High Summer Read-a-thon

Wrap-Up

I was shooting for 600 words during this read-a-thon. I thought that was a pretty reasonable goal despite wanting to get work done and having a busy weekend planned. Unfortunately, I woke up with a humongous headache on Tuesday morning which lasted, at its worst, through Thursday and is still lingering today. Usually, headaches don’t bug me too much. This headache has been special. I just couldn’t focus. An illustrative situation: Thirsty and having an empty glass, I went to the kitchen…leaving my glass at my desk. Realizing this, I went back for my glass. I poured a glass of water, put the water jug back in the ‘fridge and walked back to my desk, leaving my glass on the kitchen counter.

So, I finished nothing and read about three-fourths of my number of goal pages. Still, probably more than I would have gotten to if I hadn’t been read-a-thon-ing. And I also had a lot of fun. Different read-a-thons have different vibes. High Summer Read-a-thon was relaxed and fellow participants were surprisingly diverse in their reading selections. Big thanks for Michelle for putting together a great event! I’m looking forward to the FrightFall Read-a-thon in October.

High Summer Read-a-thon hosted by
Michelle @ The True Book Addict and Castle Macabre

I’m going to do this because I can’t resist, but I really do need to get some work done this week. Really. (I’m going back to Eric reading every night instead of every Sunday night.) Also, I have a social weekend ahead. It happens occasionally! So, it’s good that this read-a-thon is less challenge oriented; I can’t resist some of those either.

Goals

I’d like to read 600-700 pages. I haven’t stated a page goal in the past. This is a new thing to me.

I’m going to give myself lots of options:

Finish Kiss of Steel by Bec McMaster
Finish Through Darkest America by Neal Barrett Jr.
Catch up on my Poetic Edda reading
Goblin Market by Christina Rossetti
Steampunk!: An Anthology of Fantastically Rich and Strange Stories by Kelly Link
Dark Waters by Shannon Mayer
In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson
Fever Pitch by Nick Hornby
Yes, Chef: A Memoir by Marcus Samuelsson

I also really need to clean out my Kindle Cloud. I hoard free ebooks. At least they don’t take up shelf space…

Updates

7/16

  • Progress (by book): read pg. 66-94 of Kiss of Steel, skipped over to the steampunk anthology (read 5% of 421 pgs, ~21 pgs).
  • Total number of pages I’ve read: ~49 pages
  • Words written/pages edited: Rewrote part of Luck for Hire,  scene one. Again. Did more research on firefighting.Added a phone conversation to a later scene. Added around 500 words. Had sudden inspiration for a short story. Wrote a couple hundred words on that.
  • Notes: From Kiss of Steel – Dear Authors Everywhere, Every cockney vampire will be Spike to me. Just sayin’. Yours, Katherine. From “Some Fortunate Future Day” by Cassandra Clare – Mechanical leeches. Only in steampunk…
  • Challenge: Nova @ My Seryniti presents a challenge Based on Page 99 Test  – What’s the Page 99 Test? Go to page 99 of a book that you’re interested in reading. Read page 99. Was it interesting enough that you want to read page 100? Answer: I read page 99 of In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson. The page is correspondence between Rabbi Wise and American ambassador to Germany, William Dodd. Dodd reassures Wise that policy will be softening in regards to the mistreatment of Jews. Wise believes that Dodd is being lied to. And I believe that this will possibly be my next read.

7/17

  • Progress (by book): Read “Death and Waffles” by Lish McBride (~14 pages), read to 24% of steampunk anthology (~80 pgs), pg. 95-138 of Kiss of Steel
  • Total number of pages I’ve read: ~186
  • Words written/pages edited: 0 – I “called in sick.”
  • Notes: Headache from Hell. I was just saying that I wanted more Western steampunk. What do I get? “The Last Ride of the Glory Girls” by Libba Bray. And it has Pinkertons! Seriously, the worst headache I’ve had in years…

7/18

  • Number of pages I’ve read today (by book): Read “Gordon, the Self-Made Cat” by Peter S. Beagle, Read pg.139-162 of Kiss of Steel
  • Total number of pages I’ve read:~209
  • Words written/pages edited: Added 288 words to Luck
  • Notes: Long shopping trip to take care of some things for this weekend. Still with the headache.

7/19

  • Number of pages I’ve read today (by book): Read to 36% of Steampunk! (~50 pages.) The library reclaims it tomorrow.. Eeep!
  • Total number of pages I’ve read: ~259
  • Words written/pages edited: 0 – Hit a plot snag.
  • Notes: There was a ton of interesting stuff in my RSS aggregator
  • Challenge: Hosted by Laura @ Book Snob: Take one aspect of your book and show an illustration/picture/photo for it.  Then explain it briefly so we know the connection to the book you are reading. Answer: I’m currently (still) reading two steampunk-ish books. While steampunk literature is new to me, steampunk music is not. I’ve been listening to Abney Park since they offered free tracks on MP3.com. Steampunk is often seen as a mashup of the Victorian era and science fiction; Abney Park’s music is a mashup of electronic, world, traditional, and goth with the occasional sprinkles of lo-fi, jazz, and country. Good stuff.

7/20

  • Number of pages I’ve read today (by book): Er… read 1% more of Steampunk! (~4 pages)
  • Total number of pages I’ve read: ~263
  • Words written/pages edited: Added 470 word to Luck
  • Notes: Between writing and making the pudding shooters for Saturday’s party, I didn’t manage much reading.

7/21

  • Number of pages I’ve read today (by book): read 38%-44% of Steampunk! (~25 pages)
  • Total number of pages I’ve read:~ 288
  • Words written/pages edited: 0 – Busy day.
  • Notes: Party today at noon-ish.

7/22

  • Number of pages I’ve read today (by book): thru 47% (skipped through 49%) started again at 50%- 61%, read to pg. 171 of Kiss of Steel
  • Total number of pages I’ve read: ~416
  • Words written/pages edited: 0
  • Notes: Niece’s birthday party.
12 comments

  1. Welcome to the read-a-thon! You have a great list lined up. Hope you accomplish your goals. Happy reading!

    The Giveaway/prize page is posted over at the blog, if you’d like to check it out.

  2. I’m actually quite pleased that I’m not the only poor soul grappling with a headache this week! I’m trying very hard to return to my book during more pain-free moments (partially because it keeps me distracted!) but so far today I’ve read… twelve pages. Several of them multiple times! ;)

    Hope you’re feeling better, and keep up the good reading! *waves read-a-thon flag carefully*

  3. Hope you’re still enjoying the read-a-thon. Is your headache better yet? Love your eye candy for the challenge. Think I’ll do mine today. I have not done any significant reading. The woes of having to work and being hostess. Hoping the last few days will be better. :)

  4. Looks like you had a good read-a-thon no matter how the numbers turned out. Your page 99 challenge response has caught my attention. I just finished reading A Thread of Grace by Mary Doria Russell — about the Jewish refugees in Northern Italy during the period where Italy had surrendered, but was being occupied by the Germans. I’m thinking I should add In the Garden of Beasts to my “books I want to read” list. Thanks for introducing me to it.

Leave a Reply

