Throwback Thursday (08/02/12)

Throwback Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by The Housework Can Wait and Never Too Fond of Books!

Noting that book blogging onften focuses on new releases, here’s how Throwback Thursday works:

  1. Pick a book released more than 5 years ago.
  2. Write up a short summary of the book (include the title, author, and cover art) and an explanation of why you love it.
  3. Link up your post at The Housework Can Wait or Never Too Fond of Books.
  4. Visit as many blogs as you can, reminisce about books you loved, and discover some “new” books for your TBR list!

Lunar Park by Bret Easton Ellis

I have a love/hate relationship Bret Easton Ellis. It took me a long time to get through American Psycho. Probably over a year.  Not due to the violence of it, but the sheer alien quality of the the 80s GQ world that Ellis presents in hyper-real detail. This wash of details is boring and compelling at the same time. I don’t know how he does it.

I read Lunar Park because it was nominated for the World Fantasy Award. Why it wasn’t nominated for a the Stoker? I don’t know that either. It’s one of the more uneasy horror novels I’ve read.

Original post from 11/26/06:

Lunar Park starts slow.  Ellis sets up a fictional reality and then writes a memoir ghost story.  The set up is everything I disliked about American Psycho.  There is a steady stream of details that gets tiring, boring.  Honestly, I’m not sure why I kept reading aside from a certain momentum that pulls a reader through.  Thankfully, this doesn’t last as long as it does in American Psycho.  Once the fictional Bret Easton Ellis is established, the story moves, meticulously setting up  an atmosphere of dread.  I wasn’t expecting a  ghost story or the mild return of Patrick Bateman or a meditation on being a writer and the lives of a writer’s creations.  Getting all three was something of a treat.  And I wonder what epic fantasy readers think of Lunar Park being included as one of the best fantasies of the year.  Or what the ‘literary’ reader would think of it being shelved in the non-genre section.  Sadly, without the former I would have missed out on one of the best horror novels I’ve read in a long while.

Why read it today? It’s another great horror example of “home” become something uncanny and disturbing. This book is work, but it’s worth it.  For the last month or so, I’ve been wanting to reread Lunar Park. I checked it out from the library in 2006 and have considered buying it in the past on at least one occasion. I finally bit the bullet and ordered it from Amazon earlier this week. I plan on reading it during Bout of Books.

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday (08/02/12)

  1. So it sounds like you need to be in JUST the right kind of mood to handle Bret Easton Ellis’ books. I haven’t read any of them, but I have been known to plow my way through tedious and overly-detailed beginnings to get to the meat in the middle. Maybe I’ll give this one a try someday if the mood strikes. Great pick!

Leave a Reply

