It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? (08/06/12)

This Week I’m Reading:

Soulless by Gail Carriger

Alexia Tarabotti is laboring under a great many social tribulations. First, she has no soul. Second, she’s a spinster whose father is both Italian and dead. Third, she was rudely attacked by a vampire, breaking all standards of social etiquette.

Where to go from there? From bad to worse apparently, for Alexia accidentally kills the vampire—and then the appalling Lord Maccon (loud, messy, gorgeous, and werewolf) is sent by Queen Victoria to investigate.

With unexpected vampires appearing and expected vampires disappearing, everyone seems to believe Alexia responsible. Can she figure out what is actually happening to London’s high society? Will her soulless ability to negate supernatural powers prove useful or just plain embarrassing? Finally, who is the real enemy, and do they have treacle tart?

SOULLESS is a comedy of manners set in Victorian London: full of werewolves, vampires, dirigibles, and tea-drinking. (Goodreads)

My library loan on this one is running out! Eeep!

I believe it earned a hard eye roll from me the first time I read the jacket summary, but so far it’s been really fun.

Short Story of the Week:

Clarksworld #71 has stories from Kij Johnson and Catherynne M. Valente. I believe I’ll be dipping into that this week.

The Usual:

A poem, a chapter of A Storm of Swords, and the next section of Edda. (I forgot of Friday that I had something vaguely literary to say about the last section of Poetic Edda I read. Maybe I’ll get around to writing it up this week.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

