Bout of Books 5.0 – Monday

Bout of Books 5.0, Day 1

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. For all Bout of Books 5.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.

Started just after midnight with Capt. Morgan, Diet Pepsi, and We Need to Talk About Kevin. Started at the 16% mark. Went to bed at the 20% mark.

In bed, read the first story in Shadow Show, pg. 11-18. Started “Usher II” from Bradbury Stories, pg 668-682. Finished it this morning.

09:12 – PB&J & coffee. Migraine auras make reading difficult.
11:00 – Laundry and Twitter chatting!
15:07 – Dinner from Pei Wei. At 27% of Kevin.

Had to update my TBR list to include Steampunk! An Anthology of Fantastically Rich and Strange Stories, an anthology I’m half-way through that I’ve rechecked out from the GPDL.

22:36 – Stopping at 36% of Kevin to write. That makes an even-ish 20% of the book for today, ~80 pages.

Number of pages I’ve read today: ~101 total. Not too shabby!
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~101
Reading/Read: We Need to Talk About Kevin, Shadow Show, Bradbury Stories
Writing progress: Started editing on page 233, in the middle of the F.B.I. office scene. Stopped on pg. 237. End of chapter, we’re still with the F.B.I.

Monday Challenges

Literary BFFs hosted by Auggie Talk

Everyone has that one character. The character that they know they could relate to, get along with, have fun with, and laugh with. A literary BFF! Tell us who your literary BFF is and why they’re your always friend. What do you guys do together? What do you talk about?

If I could be BFF’s with one literary character it would be Molly Grue from The Last Unicorn.

Not the youngest, the most beautiful, or the most even-tempered, Molly is practical, logical, and quite courageous. I’d like to think that we’d be the sort of neighborhood friends that my grandmother had. We’d have coffee every morning and maybe get together in the afternoon if something *happened* in the neighborhood or in our lives.

We’d commiserate about our men. Mine, still working on a computer algorithm  for creating concordances of diverse books. Her, still trying to turn iron bars into cheese. “He’s getting closer. He turned them into yogurt yesterday, but the cheap kind with too much high fructose corn syrup in it.”

Lunches would be sandwiches with chewy bread made by her and desert cocktails made by me. “I really wouldn’t have thought that vodka and pudding would go together.”

And while I’d never press and never ask, she would occasionally on cool mornings when the seasons were mid-change tell me about the unicorn, but only because I’m the only one to never press and never ask. “Her mane really wasn’t like dandelion fluff. It was more like cotton wood down.”

Passing Books hosted by Reading in Texas and The Space Between

To enter this challenge, tell us what happens to your books after you have read them.

If the book is one that I think I might read again, however small the possibility, it finds a place on my shelves or gets boxed up. I have more books than shelf space, so I rotate my books between shelves and boxes. If I don’t think I’ll read the book again (and I’ve learned to be honest with myself about this), I post it at PaperbackSwap. I’ve been using PBS for years and it’s a good way of trading out books, basically for the cost of postage.

7 comments

Leave a Reply

