Bout of Books 5.0 – Thursday

Bout of Books 5.0, Day 4

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. For all Bout of Books 5.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.

Picked up Steampunk! An Anthology Of Fantastically Rich And Strange Stories at 60%. Not much in a reading mood today. Played some EQ2, went out to dinner with my husband. It was his birthday. Ended the day at 69% of Steampunk!

Number of pages I’ve read today: ~37
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~407
Reading/Read: Steampunk! An Anthology Of
Writing progress: *whistles innocently*

Thursday Challenges

Candy Challenge hosted by BookSmartie

I don’t know about you but I used to love eating and reading at the same time – I don’t even know why. So for this challenge (also, because my rating system just screams candy) I’d like you to share either what’s your favorite snack while reading – do you snack at all? Or do you – like me – sometimes try to eat (or drink) exactly what the characters in the story are having?

I had never thought about eating what characters are eating, though every time I have them I think about Captain Cully telling Schmendrick to “have a taco” in The Last Unicorn. It’s so random and sort of anachronistic. As a writer, I’m uncomfortable if my characters aren’t eating and drinking regularly. During 24-hour read-a-thons, I seem to end up eating holiday candy. For week-long read-a-thons, I eat what I usually eat, but while reading. Lately, the food of choice has been “on a pita.” (PB&J-on a pita. Turkey and cheese-on a pita. Eggs and potatoes-on a pita.) The non-book-friendly recent snack? Jalapeno Cheetos.  Luckily, I’m reading mostly via Kindle Cloud Reader (aka on my PC). Additionally, pickles and vodka have been the house cocktail. Tasty. Makes me want to break out some Pushkin.

3 comments

  1. Birthdays are a good reason o put a book aside for some hours ^^
    tell him i wish him all the best with a day of delay^^
    good luck in achieving your goals

Leave a Reply

