Bout of Books 5.0 – Friday & Saturday

Bout of Books 5.0, Day 5 & 6

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. For all Bout of Books 5.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.

Friday
Started at 69% of Steampunk!, ended at 90% (about 88 pages). Read pg 32-39 of Shadow Show; pg449-454, “The Sound of Summer Running,” in Bradbury Stories. (12 pages)

Saturday
Picked up Steampunk! at 90%. Finished at 97% (~29 pages). Next already-in-progress: Kiss of Steel. Started at pg. 267. Read to pg. 399.

Total

Number of pages I’ve read today: ~100 (Friday), ~161 (Saturday)
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~668
Reading/Read: Steampunk!, Shadow Show, Bradbury Stories, Kiss of Steel
Writing progress: Nothing on Friday. Did more work on Ch. 23 on Saturday.

Friday Challenges

Oof. Never got to them. Hung out with the husband playing EQ2 too much. ;)

Saturday Challenges

Music hosted by My Not So Real Life

The rules are simple. All you have to do is choose one book that you’ve read this year, or one of your favorites, or even a book that you’ve read for the readathon. Then, choose a song that matches your book. Post a picture/link to your book, and a embed/link your song.

One of my favorite “finds” of the past year has been Elmore Leonard’s westerns. I’ve read two this year, thus far. Leonard is becoming my go-to light read.

My musical pairing is Days of the New. Day of the New has always seemed to me to be what might happen if cowboys rocked. This remix of “Enemy” has too much swirvy bass and I don’t know what’s with the zoomy synth near the end, but the acoustic guitar is there and the lyrics are very Leonard.

Obviously, their most famous and more indicative song is “Touch, Peel, and Stand.”

Page 99 Test hosted by My Seryniti

  • Choose a book that you have on your to read list.
  • Read page 99
  • Comment below and let us know how you feel! Did page 99 draw you in or push you away? Are you more curious or less?

I’ve been meaning to do this with a re-read. I have one on my list though I probably won’t get to it: Lunar Park by Bret Easton Ellis. Page 99 is all about a bright suburban morning…and Xanax and dead crows. Yep, the things I liked about this book.

5 thoughts on “Bout of Books 5.0 – Friday & Saturday

  1. I like your style! I’ve been awake about 4 hours but have only spent about 1 hour reading so far. Saturday can be a very busy day.

Leave a Reply

