Been strolling down memory lane today. It started with me planning to add some frisbee stuff to my scrapbook, turned in to me wanting to thin out the box of “stuff” I have. Every time I set out to do that I end up reading old letters, old printed out e-mails, cards…and nothing gets thrown out except maybe some very old Christmas cards.

What funny little snapshots I have of my life. I was reading some e-mails from Andy, printed out for who-knows-what reason. These were from spring of 1997. Me, dealing with demons in Autobiographical Fiction class. Andy, in love with Juan and finally coming out to people. Dima popping back into our lives. My mom moving out. How can I throw these bits out? Old, funny letters from Andy bored at work to Katherine in her new apartment. The Mill? What was the Mill? Ah yes, a coffee shop. I never went there, torture for someone who had once given up coffee. Tania wondering about my sexuality because I was going to the Q with Andy on Tuesdays and checking out David Leavitt books. What a time! And life would change incredibly by the next year. More than it ever had before.

Leave a Reply

