I wanted to do two things with 2004: write more and read more.

Writing

The Plan has worked out better than I had ever expected it would. I finished MarieII, began and finished JoanneTheNovel, and did NaNoWriMo in 2004. I have a feeling my word goals will be increased when we start the next novel. Yes, I was productive and screwed myself. 😉

Here are the official totals (and 2003’s):

Total Word Count: 229,160 (206,740)
“Official” Projects: 148,386 (99,366)

  • Marie: 12,649
  • Joanne: 81,462
  • Grayscale/NaNoWriMo: 54,274

RPG Journals: 64,709 (89,743)
Other: 15,964 (17,756)

Yes, I realized the numbers don’t quite all add up…

I could still be doing better in the land of ‘selling’ my work. We went to two conventions this year, our firsts. I’m not sure if they really helped in the land of marketing and networking, but they probably didn’t hurt. They were very good for inspiration purposes. In the New Year I’d like better turn around on getting novel proposals back out the door.

Reading

I did half of my yearly reading list back in July. Here’s the rest:

She’s Not There by Jennifer Finney Boylan. Biography. Great book. This is the first I’ve read of transsexualism that was completely devoid of sensationalism. And another book I would have never picked up without DearReader.com.

Mucho Mojo by Joe R. Lansdale. Mystery. I believe I went on quite a bit about this one when I finished it. Disappointing.

The Legend of Pope Joan by Peter Stanford. Non-Fiction. I will read anything by Peter Stanford and happily forgive him for being religious. He writes with humor and familiarity.

The Doorkeepers by Graham Masterton. Horror. I really like the core concept of this book. Alternate Puritanical timelines is a good start. But… Another completely boffed ending. And I’m still fairly convinced that Masterton violates the rules of the gimmick that he put forth.

Let’s All Kill Constance by Ray Bradbury. Mystery. It’s Bradbury. The plot isn’t great but the details are a joy.

The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle. Fantasy. Big o’ Re-read. Probably my favorite book. Period. I can’t wait for the audio version to come out.

The Bird’s Nest by Shirley Jackson. Horror-ish. I won’t vouch for how accurate of a depiction of multiple personalities this is, but it was well written and bitting in some parts.

Only seven books in the latter half of the year, making for a total of 21. Not counting the things I skimmed and half-read. I must say, the non-fiction I’ve read lately has been much better than the fiction. Fiction maybe somewhat ruined for me.

2 thoughts on “

  1. Fiction can’t be ruined! I go through patches when I can’t find anything satisfying to read. It’s horrible.

    Have you read any Mary Gentle? I’m not 100% sure you’ll love it, but have a go if you can find any. But not her White Crow stuff. She has a really interesting approach to genre. *shrug* Just a suggestion.

    d
    ps. I didn’t thank you for the card, did I? It was lovely to receive. Thank you and you’re welcome. You realise though, that my NaNo starts on Jan 16 (when I get to Sweden) and you are on my cheersquad. Right?

    1. It might just be current genre fiction that’s leaving me unsatisfied. I get into pick-apart mode and it sucks the enjoyment right out of it. I’ll certainly give Mary Gentle a try. I thought of her as I was in the parking lot *leaving* Bookman’s the other day and I didn’t have the heart put Eric through another go.

      I took a look at your list…you wish you’d read more? Sheesh, you put me to shame!

      My pompoms are set and ready for Jan. 16th. 🙂

Leave a Reply

