Read-a-thon Post

Recap:

I read for 21.5 hours with a couple naps. At 2am on Sunday, it wasn’t fun any more and it was time to sleep. Read 492 pages. Consumed 1634mg of caffeine. Finished Sleight of Hand. Won a book! (I picked Heidegger’s Glasses by Thaisa Frank.) Had a great time. 🙂 Big thanks to everyone at Dewey’s Read-a-thon for organizing this twice a year!

Day of:

Starting at 5am on Saturday, April 9th, I will do my darndest to read for 24 hours straight. I will not be alone.

Why am I doing this? Because too often I don’t take the time to engage in something I truly enjoy.

Below are a few of the books I’ll finish/start. I doubt I’ll finish any books cover-to-cover because I am a really slow reader. Last year, I read around 500 pages and ingested 1425mg of caffeine.

This post will be updated all day on Saturday, about once an hour.

Katherine’s 2011 Readathon Book Montage

Sleight of HandJo's Girls: Tomboy Tales of High Adventure, True Grit, and Real LifeThe Flight of the Eisenstein (Warhammer 40,000)Doomsday BookThe Serpent and the RainbowA Game of ThronesQ's Legacy

Initial Notes: Woke up at 3:30am with a headache.Took two Excedrin, talked to Eric for a while (he was just coming to bed after being up late). Figured I’d save us the whole 4:50am alarm and get started early.

04:30, Saturday
Book: Doomsday Book by Connie Willis
Food & Drink: Water.
Noise: None.
Environment: Desk. Kitchen light. Raining.
Other Activity: None.

05:30, Saturday
Book: Doomsday Book by Connie Willis, Pg. 36
Food & Drink: Coffee (Dunkin Donuts Pumpkin), PB&J pita.
Noise: Wet traffic noises.
Environment: Same. It’s even still raining!
Other Activity: Hour 1 Meme

06:30, Saturday
Book: Doomsday Book by Connie Willis, Pg. 72
Food & Drink: More coffee. A Peepster.
Noise: Birds chirping.
Environment: Desk. Kitchen light. Overcast, starting to lighten outside.
Other Activity: None.

07:30, Saturday
Book: Doomsday Book by Connie Willis, Pg. 107
Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle, Pg. 128-131
Food & Drink: Coffee. Peepster.
Noise: None.
Environment: Desk. Turned off the light in the kitchen. All-natural overcast. Couch.
Other Activity: Nap

08:30, Saturday
Book: Doomsday Book by Connie Willis, Pg. 127
Food & Drink: Piece of leftover pizza (beef and black olive), Stash Christmas Morning Tea
Noise: Sredets Chamber Choir
Environment: Back at my desk.
Other Activity: Nap, got dressed.

09:30, Saturday
Book: Doomsday Book by Connie Willis, Pg. 135
Food & Drink: Water, Peepster.
Noise: Sredets Chamber Choir, Gregorian Chant, Loreena McKennitt
Environment: Desk.
Other Activity: Hour 5 Mini-Challenge!

10:30, Saturday
Book: Doomsday Book by Connie Willis, Pg. 159
Food & Drink: Brewing more coffee (Folger’s Breakfast Roast), a line of Peeps.
Noise: Loreena McKennitt
Environment: Desk.
Other Activity: A little bloggery. Computer crash!!!

11:30, Saturday
Book: Doomsday Book by Connie Willis, Pg. 184
Time for my weekly Martin: A Game of Thrones, Pg. 76-92
Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle, Pg. 131-140
Food & Drink: Coffee, peanuts.
Noise: None.
Environment: Cozy on the couch.
Other Activity: None.

12:30, Saturday
Book: Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle, Pg. 141-156
Food & Drink: Coffee, peanuts.
Noise: None.
Environment: Cozy on the couch.
Other Activity: Talking to Eric.

13:30, Saturday
Book: Back to Doomsday Book
Food & Drink: Sandwiches from Beaver Choice, Diet Mt. Dew Voltage
Noise: None.
Environment: Back at my desk.
Other Activity: Talking to Eric.

14:30, Saturday
Book: Doomsday Book, Pg. 201
Food & Drink: Still noshing my sandwich.
Noise: Eric talking to Chris via Skype
Environment: It’s kinda cold today.
Other Activity: Talking to Eric. Took out the trash/got the mail. Responded to an email or two.

15:30, Saturday
Book: Doomsday Book, Pg. 218
Food & Drink: Rockstar Zero Carb
Noise: None.
Environment: But the sun’s coming out a little!
Other Activity: None.

16:30, Saturday
Book: Doomsday Book, Pg. 241-249
Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle, Pg. 156
Food & Drink: Atomic Fireball!
Noise: None.
Environment: Back on the couch.
Other Activity: Nap.

17:30, Saturday
Book: Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle, Pg. 184
Food & Drink: Water. Cry Baby Bubble Gum
Noise: None.
Environment: Back to lights on. Both kitchen & living room right now.
Other Activity: Nap.

18:30, Saturday
Book: Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle, Pg. 193
Food & Drink: Stash White Christmas tea. (It’s 45 degrees and raining in Tempe. All I’m missing is the tree!) Peepster.
Noise: None.
Environment: Switched to kitchen light and hallway lamp.
Other Activity: Hour 13 Mini-Challenge
Note: Feeling light-headed. Might be too much caffeine. Might be too many B vitamins. Might be that I’ve taken an extra antihistamine…

19:30, Saturday
Book: Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle, Pg. 208
Food & Drink: None.
Noise: None.
Environment: Same.
Other Activity: None.
Note: Beagle pretty well sucked me in. “Dirae” is a great story.

20:30, Saturday
Book: Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle, Pg. 230
Food & Drink: Another piece of left-over pizza. Water.
Noise: None.
Environment: Same.
Other Activity: I won a book!

21:30, Saturday
Book: Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle, Pg. 242
Food & Drink: Pot o’ coffee #3 (Seattle’s Best Cinnamon), Robin’s Eggs
Noise: None.
Environment: Down to the kitchen light again. Eric’s napping.
Other Activity: None.

22:30, Saturday
Book: Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle, Pg. 261
Food & Drink: Coffee
Noise: None.
Environment: Back to two lights. Walked around a bite…while reading.
Other Activity: None.

23:30, Saturday
Book: Finished Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle
Starting Q’s Legacy by Helene Hanff (decided to go for something light this late in the game.
Food & Drink: I’ll give you two guesses.
Noise: None.
Environment: No change.
Other Activity: Flossed.

00:30, Sunday
Book: Q’s Legacy by Helene Hanff, Pg. 30
Food & Drink: Coffee. The last of it for tonight. Weird jelly-cookie thing.
Noise: The light rail is still running.
Environment: Desk and couch.
Other Activity: Nap.

01:30, Sunday
Book: Q’s Legacy by Helene Hanff, Pg. 51
Food & Drink: Water, Cry Babies.
Noise: None.
Environment: Same
Other Activity: Mispronunciation of “citric acid.”

02:08, Sunday
Book: Q’s Legacy by Helene Hanff, Pg. 68
Calling it a night. Unfortunately, the insomnia that woke me up at 3:30am yesterday is catching up with me. Had a great time, as always. Write up to follow tomorrow.

11 thoughts on “Read-a-thon Post

  1. You live in a horrible time zone, I must say. 😛 I start at 3PM. I’m so excited for this! It will be my first Read-a-Thon ever. I don’t know how will I be able to read because of the excitement.

    Interesting choices of books.I’ve mostly picked books that are easy and fun to read, such as Terry Pratchett and Goosebumps. But I also have Ted Dekker, Stephen King and the fourth books in a series I started reading a few years a go.

    It should be a fun experience! 😀

    1. Theoretically, I’ll be able to get a good night of sleep and get up a little earlier than usual. Realistically, it’s gaming night and “early” and I don’t get along very well. 😉 This will be my third read-a-thon. It’s a ton of sleepless fun!

      I think I’m going to regret not going to the library for a fluffy non-fiction book, but surely I have something of that sort in the apartment if I need it. Good luck and good reading!

  2. You’re doing great! Keep it up! So glad you could join us today and hope you’re having fun!

    Cover to Cover
    And Coast to Coast
    Across the Oceans
    We’ve been brought together
    By what we love the most!
    Let’s hear it for the readers!

Leave a Reply

