2012 Challenge #1 – Mixing It Up

Undeterred by my lack of 2011 challenge success (only 4 re-reads? really?), it’s time to turn my sight to 2012.

The first challenge that has caught my eye (via An Armchair by the Sea) is being hosted by Ellie at Musings of a Bookshop Girl. It is the Mixing It Up Challenge! The goal: read books of different genres. Push reading boundaries, explore new frontiers!

There are 16 categories:

Classics – David Copperfield – Charles Dickens
Biography – Fever Pitch by Nick Hornby
Cookery, Food and Wine
History – In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson
Modern Fiction – Heidegger’s Glasses by Thaisa Frank
Graphic Novels and Manga
Crime and Mystery – A Place of Execution – Val McDermid
Horror – Let the Right One In by John Ajvide Lindqvist
Romance
Science Fiction and Fantasy – A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin
Travel – I See by My Outfit by Peter S. Beagle
Poetry and Drama – Minorities by T. E. Lawrence
Journalism and Humour
Science and Natural History
Children’s and Young Adult – The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins
Social Sciences and Philosophy

I’m going to shoot for the “Mixing Bowl” level of participation and read from 9-12 categories. I know how fickle I am. I’ve filled in some titles, but those are tentative.

For more info, visit the Mixing It Up Challenge sticky page!

One thought on “2012 Challenge #1 – Mixing It Up

  1. Thanks for signing up as my newest Mixing It Up Recruit Katherine! I haven’t 100% settled on any titles yet either, though I’ve got a fairly definite idea for some of the categories. ‘Let the Right One In’ is one of my possible reads – it had such great reviews and yet it’s STILL sitting on my shelf! And ‘The Hunger Games’ is amazing – I’ve only read the first book so far (for one of THIS year’s challenges, oops) but it blew me away. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

