2011 TBR Moratorium

It’s time to call a moratorium on 2011’s To-Be-Reads and wipe the slate semi-clean.

The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Le Guin – This was February’s Women of Science Fiction pick. I believe I didn’t get to it until my plane ride to Omaha in late April. I didn’t hold my interest for more than a few pages. This is probably a re-list on Paperback Swap.

Indigo Springs by A. M. Dellamonica  – This was August’s Women of Fantasy pick. Started this book. It wasn’t bad, but I got distracted by other things. It’s been too long, so I’m going to pull the bookmark on this one and shelf it.

Jo’s Girls ed. by Christian McEwen – Got maybe 1/3 through this anthology. I’ll probably write a blog post about the nature of tomboys in literature at some point, but I’m not sure I’ll finish this book. Too many other better things to read at the moment. Leaving the bookmark, but shelving it.

Last Call by Tim Powers – I’m currently reading this and plan on finishing it by the end of the year.

The Flight of the Eisenstein by James Swallow – Started it, but kept getting sidetracked by Women of… lists and trips to the library. Pulling the bookmark (I’m on page 3 or so) and keeping it around.

God Emperor of Dune by Frank Herbert – *sigh* I still haven’t gotten to the fourth Dune book. Keeping it around.

People of the Book, edited by Rachael Swirsky & Sean Wallace – I read the first two stories in this anthology as a pallet cleanser between Farthing & Miss Peregrine’s and whatever I chose to read next. I’ll probably dip into this anthology from time to time as I read short stories in the new year.

Haven’t gotten around to the following and am going to re-shelve them. All would have been re-reads.
Haroun and the Sea of Stories by Salman Rushdie
The Call of Stories by Robert Coles
The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

In 2011, I learned that I’m not very good or very happy with set reading lists. Again I marvel that I made it though 7 semesters of English lit classes. Of course, it was my habit in college to revert to Star Trek novels during dead/finals week. Call it my rebellion against Clarissa and Victorian poetry.

Leave a Reply

