Fall Into Reading Wrap-Up

Tomorrow will have 3 seconds more daylight than today. What does that mean? Among other things, that Fall Into Reading is at an end. Where did autumn go? I don’t know, but luckily it will be back in nine months. 😉

I have to thank Katrina at Callapidder Days for the challenge, the weekly questions (which I didn’t participate in nearly often enough), and the wrap-up questions below!

Fall Into Reading 2011 Summary: Finished 5-ish Books! (I counted the comics and graphic novel as one book.) 5 short stories.

Did you finish reading all the books on your fall reading list? If not, why not? I didn’t finish everything on my original list. I knew I wouldn’t!  I’m a slow reader and I play too much EverQuest 2. And also…

Did you stick to your original goals or did you change your list as you went along? I’m a magpie when it comes to books. The next shiny one that comes along gets all my attention. I ended up reading two books that were not on my original list.

What was your favorite book that you read this fall? Least favorite? Why? I’m going to have to go with A Game of Thrones as my favorite. Despite his faults, Martin creates a compelling world and I appreciate that he’s an author that wants to tell a story without being nice about it. Least favorite would have to be Farthing. It bored the heck out of me.

Did you discover a new author or genre this fall? Did you love them? Not love them? Both Erin Morgenstern and Randsom Riggs were new to me. I liked the books well enough, but I probably won’t go out of my way to read more of their works.

Did you learn something new because of Fall Into Reading 2011 – something about reading, about yourself, or about a topic you read about? Not sure I learned anything new, but it reiterated that I’m really bad at sticking with a reading list! It does make me really *want* to stick to a challenge, though. Maybe in 2012.

What was your favorite thing about the challenge? I like breaking up experiences into smaller pieces. It will be nice to remember Fall 2011 for the moody, fantastical books I read. Having demarcation points is important to me. (And ultimately, that *is* something I’ve learned about myself .)

From my original plan:

I read:
Old Friend from Far Away by Natalie Goldberg
New X-Men, Ultimate Collection Book 2 by Grant Morrison
The Sandman: Endless Nights by Neil Gaiman

I finished:
A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin
(I’ll starting A Clash of Kings in the new year.)

I didn’t get to:
Indigo Springs by A. M. Dellamonica
The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
The Flight of the Eisenstein by James Swallow

I put aside:
Finishing Jo’s Girls ed. by Christian McEwen

I’m still working on:
Last Call by Tim Powers
(The odds of me finishing this one are slim.)

I couldn’t finish:
Doc by Mary Doria Russel
Farthing by Jo Walton

And at least a dozen short stories! (I read five, and am currently reading Dickens’ A Christmas Carol.)

Read, not as a part of the plan:
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

3 thoughts on “Fall Into Reading Wrap-Up

  1. Lovely post! I had to smile at the magpie analogy–I guess I am a magpie too! I had 15 books on my list, read 7 of those and (ahem) read 17 “shiny others that came along” chuckle. And I had to look up “demarcation point” so there is something else I’ve learned from this challenge–thanks! 🙂

  2. You know, it is always interesting to read these “wrap-up” posts. Most of the books you chose would not be my cup of tea, but I found a book that really catches my interest. Doc sounds really good, and I have added it to my list. So thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

