Bout of Books Read-a-thon

Wrap-Up

In the matter of read-a-thons, “goal” is a relative term for me.

I don’t play well with lists. I blame college. As slow as I am, the only way I managed to keep up with an English major’s reading load by churning through it without thought. A read-a-thon facilitates the need to relentless move forward with reading, but I also have the freedom to do whatever I want. Left to my own devices, I follow a reading list for slightly longer than it takes for me to write it. Also, my TBR pile is like Tetris.  Never ending, and progress is progress whether from the top, bottom, or middle.

What I’m saying is, I didn’t exactly clear my goal list. But if my goal was to read more than I usually do? Mission accomplished!

I read three books, three novellas, a short story, and a few odd poems and chapters here and there. If all that I would have done was finish the Nebula nomineed short works, I would have been happy. I also participated in a few challenges, lurked around Twitter, and visited some new blogs. This was my first Bout of Books, and I was impressed with how smooth and laid back it was, socially. Major kudos to the Bout of Books team for putting together a great event.

—###—

I’m joining a read-a-thon. On the fly. An impulse participation, if you will.

Shhh. Don’t tell my husband.

That last bit is a joke. Eric humors me.

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon

Actually, participation in a Bout of Books feeds into something I was thinking about this morning. I was in a very quiet place yesterday. I felt productive and unhurried, getting some chores out of the way and thinking some mildly creative thoughts. Most importantly, the day seemed to stretch. What was the different about yesterday? I spent a good amount of time yesterday reading. Relatively unconnected. Like I used to be when I was a more productive writer. (Maybe I’m just as productive now; I haven’t looked at numbers. But I don’t feel as productive.)

Plus, my 24-hour read-a-thon was kind of a bust.

My Goals

This is an experiment of sorts. I want to read a bunch this week, but I also want to write a bunch. I’m going to include a word count in my update section. Basically, I want shift the time I spend doing nonsense online into reading and see where I end up.

Books To Read

I want to finish up the available Nebula Award nominees before the awards ceremony this weekend: DONE! (Review)

Also:

Finish The Big Short by Michael Lewis
The Two Sams by Glen Hirshberg DONE! (Review)
Through Darkest America by Neal Barrett, Jr.

“Off-List”: (added Wednesday)

The Woman in Black by Susan Hill DONE!
The Pirates!: And Adverture with Scientists by Gideon Defoe DONE!

Updates

5/14

Number of pages I’ve read today: ~72 (darn electronic books)
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~72
Books: Finished “Silently and Very Fast” by Catherynne M. Valente, “Kiss Me Twice” by Mary Robinette Kowal
Words written: 370

5/15

Number of pages I’ve read today: ~112
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~184
Books: “The Man Who Ended History: A Documentary” by Ken Liu, “The Man Who Bridged the Mist” by Kij Johnson, a chapter of A Clash of Kings, started The Two Sams
Words written: 0, The headache gnomes were not in my plan.
This or That  Challenge

5/16

Number of pages I’ve read today: 132
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~316
Books: 3/5th (story-wise) through The Two Sams
Words written: 370-ish

5/17

Number of pages I’ve read today: 64, and…er…darn Kindle Cloud app…
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~380 (and 36%)
Books: Finished The Two Sams, 36% of The Woman in Black by Susan Hill
Words written: 0

5/18

Number of pages I’ve read today: 3
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~383 (and 36%)
Books: The Big Short
Words written: 0
Ended up taking the day off from reading, but still did the Books & Shoes Challenge.

5/19

Number of pages I’ve read today: Last 64% of one, 41% of another.
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~599 (and 41%)
Books: Finished The Lady in Black by Susan Hill, The Pirates!: And Adventure with Scientists by Gideon Defoe
Words written: 132

5/20

Number of pages I’ve read today: Last 59%, ~22
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~765
Books: Finished The Pirates!: And Adventure with Scientists by Gideon Defoe, short story “About Fairies” by Pat Murphy, seven poems from Minorities,
Words written: 428

7 thoughts on “Bout of Books Read-a-thon

  1. Pingback: Books #11 & #12 « Katherine's Reading Notes

Leave a Reply

