It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? (10/15/12)

But Mousie, thou art no thy lane,
In proving foresight may be vain:
The best-laid schemes o’ mice an’ men
Gang aft agley,
An’ lea’e us nought but grief an’ pain,
For promis’d joy!

Still thou are blest, compared wi’ me!
The present only toucheth thee:
But och! I backward cast my e’e,
On prospects drear!
An’ forward, tho’ I canna see,
I guess an’ fear!

from To a Mouse by Robert Burns

Heading home tonight after being with the Nebraska arm of my family for a week.

This Week I’m Reading:

Dark Water by Koji Suzuki, Glynne Walley (Translator)

A haunting collection of short stories from Koji Suzuki, author of the smash thriller, Ring, which spawned the hit film and sequels. The first story in this collection has been adapted to film (Dark Water, Walter Salles), and another, “Adrift” is currently in production with Dimension Films. (Goodreads)

Read Ring a few years back after being traumatized by the movie. In the mood for similar.

Short Story of the Week:

My mom has the book Saint-Germain: Memoirs, which seems to be a collection of short stories by Chelsea Quinn Yarbro featuring Comte de Saint-Germain. Going to try fitting in one this afternoon.

The Usual:

A poem and a section of Poetic Edda. I don’t think its yet time for me to go back to George RR Martin.

What I Read Last Week:

Finished up Let the Right One In. I’ll also have a round up of some R.I.P. stuff tomorrow.

