It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? (10/29/12)

It’s the last three days of October. Where did the month go? NaNoWriMo looms large and this blog is going on semi hiatus during November. I have intentions of keeping up with reviews, Throwback Thursday (featuring writing-aspected books), and maybe writing a Friday writing summary. This is The Writerly Reader after all. If you’re joining the NaNo insanity in November, you can find me on the NaNo site as Katen.

This Week I’m Reading:

Since I’m endeavoring to write a historical fiction about him, the next three days and probably the next couple of weeks with be filled with

David P. Abbott’s Collected Works*

as curated by me via Google Books.

Plus, some more history of Omaha, NE. Omaha is my hometown, as well as Abbott’s, and it’s amusing to me how much history is lost on the young. When I was a kid, I couldn’t have given two figs about the history of anywhere including my place of birth. It was all dates and names. It’s only now that I’m interested in the stories, the best parts of history.

*There is a two-volume set of Abbott’s notes and writings entitled House of Mystery The Magic Science of David P. Abbott,edited and expanded by Teller and Todd Karr. It’s $100. A little too steep of a price for me at this stage of the game.

The Usual:

Aside from Poetic Edda & two chapters of A Clash of Kings, I’m probably not going to worry too much about keeping with poems and short stories. On average, I’ve hit my goals with shorter works.

