2012 Moratorium

shelfoverflowSometimes, I get blocked as a reader. I find myself stressed about finishing books instead of being excited or enjoying them. And then I don’t get any reading done at all. Last year, I called a moratorium on books that I wasn’t going to finish. Time to do that again, but with bloggery in mind too.

Christmas reading – I had good intention of reading more Christmas/winter holiday books, but I’m a magpie. Other shinies have taken my attention. Never did get into The Stupidest Angel by Christopher Moore. The humor wasn’t quite sly enough for my taste.

Moscow But Dreaming by Ekaterina Sedia – I read over 60% of this book. Sedia is a very talented writer and I wouldn’t say that these stories aren’t good, I’m just not quite in the mood for her style of magical realism. Honestly, I haven’t read much magical realism and I’m not sure if it’s a genre/sub-genre that I’ll ever take a liking to. I like at least a hint system in whatever magic is being presented. I can deal with a flight of fancy, but not a prolonged one. That said, “Tin Cans” is a haunting piece of work. I might revisit Sedia in the future, but right now I need more solid stories.

In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin by Erik Larson – I’ll get back to this book, but probably not in the near future.

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? – I am just not a fast enough reader to make this meme work for me. Most Mondays, I’m still reading the book I was reading last Monday. Unless I’d added one to my stack. That happens a little too often too.

Also, the TBR list is cleared…mostly. I’m down for 12 books I already own for Mnt. TBR, but the list is in no way set.

Leave a Reply

