Bout of Books 6.0 ~ Goal & Progress Post

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 7th and runs through Sunday, January 13th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 6.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. –From the Bout of Books 6.0 team

GOALS

I’m going to shoot for ~600 pages. I’ve done 700+ during my first two Bouts of Books, but I don’t need the pressure of besting the past. At least, not in this case. As always, my TBR list is greater than the hours in the day and is absolutely subject to change.

BOOKS TO READ

Loaned to Me:
Finish Carter Beats the Devil by Glen David Gold (starting at 17%)

ARCs:
Finish Man in the Empty Suit by Sean Ferrell (starting at 16% 35%) Finished!
The Specimen by Martha Lea Finished!
The Revenge of Moriarty by John Gardner

From the Bookshelf:
Finish Behind the Scenes with Mediums by David Phelps Abbott (starting at 35%)
The Unknown Poe, edited by Raymond Foye

The Weekly Usual:
Two chapters of A Storm of Swords, a poem, a short story, and a section of Edda, unless I read them on Sunday. (Which I did, except for the Martin.)

UPDATES

MONDAY
Number of pages I’ve read today: ~102
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~102
Books: Man in the Empty Suit by Sean Ferrell – started at 35%  (~ pg. 105/300), read to 69% (~pg. 207/300).
Writing work done: Cleared a few comments from the Luck for Hire manuscript. Helped Eric add to a playlist for a character in his novel (important to the story, though I may have jammed out a little excessively).
Notes: Forewent Twitter chat to read more before my husband got up.

TUESDAY
Number of pages I’ve read today: ~103
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~205
Books: Read “Selkie Stories Are for Losers” by Sofia Samatar (at 3,000 words long, I’m counting it as 4 pages). Read “Trixie and the Pandas of Dread” by Eugie Foster (at 5,000 words long, I’m counting it as (does algebra to be commensurate with the selkie story, round up) 7 pages.) Finished Man in the Empty Suit, ~92 pages.
Writing work done: Cleared the rest of the comments on Luck for Hire. The novel is…done!
Notes: Had an ultimate frisbee game tonight. Lost in hard cap, 10-9, but what a game!

WEDNESDAY
Number of pages I’ve read today: 10
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~210
Books: A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin, pg. 246-256
Writing work done: Wrote a cover letter and the first third-half of the synopsis for Luck for Hire.
Notes: Had an ultimate frisbee game at noon and a Nebraska basketball game in the evening. Also ended up having ultimate frisbee webpages to update.

THURSDAY
Number of pages I’ve read today: 136
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~346
Books: A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin, pg. 257-274, “The Passing of Grandmother’s Quilt” by Cat Rambo (1 page),  The Specimen by Martha Lea (read to pg. 118).
Writing work done: None, consciously took the day off.
Notes: I had an ultimate frisbee game tonight, but my body decided against it. So, I spent the evening reading and napping instead.

FRIDAY
Number of pages I’ve read today: 113
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~459
Books: The Specimen by Martha Lea (pg. 119-232)
Writing work done: Discussed the cover letter and synopsis with Eric, gathered list of potential agents for Luck for Hire.
Notes: Just a pretty good January day.

SATURDAY
Number of pages I’ve read today: 234
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~693
Books: Finished The Specimen by Martha Lea (pg. 233-362).  Started Sorry Please Thank You by Charles Yu (44%, ~105 pages).
Writing work done: Worked on writing faux news articles for husband’s novel.
Notes: I chatted! Yay! And finished crocheting my Kindle cozy. And spent a goodly amount of time deciding what I wanted to read next. I needed something the wasn’t set in late 19th-early 20th century.

SUNDAY
Number of pages I’ve read today: ~134
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~827
Books: Finished Sorry Please Thank You by Charles Yu (~134 pages).
Writing work done: None. It’s Sunday!
Notes: Listened to a basketball game. Hung out with the husband. Ate BBQ.

CHALLENGES

Scientific Discovery

Racquel & Sharon of Book Barbies:

You have made a scientific discovery on how to bring fictional characters to life. The problem? The method still isn’t *perfect,* so you can only bring two people to life, and they must return to the land of fiction in 30 days. Who will you choose as your bestie and your love interest for that one splendid month?

Lady's got guts.
Lady’s got guts.

My bestie: Molly Grue fromThe Last Unicorn. She’s lived a little, made some bad decisions, made some good decisions, and is the only one crazy enough to scold a unicorn and listen to a cat. We could have coffee together.  She can teach me her recipe for tacos, and we’ll talk about impossible men.

Faramir_nosey
And he has the better nose.

My love interest: While I’m in the fantasy of bringing characters to life, I’ll also construct a parallel timeline in which my husband doesn’t mind me crushing on a fictional character for a month. *cough* This was a hard choice. The male characters I like are not exactly boyfriend material. They’re all a little…obsessive. Sherlock Holmes? Abraham Van Helsing (the only reason I’ve read Dracula more than once)? Inigo Montoya? The closest to not utterly consumed is Faramir from The Two Towers and The Return of the King, so I’ll chose him. Yep, Faramir, not Aragorn. I’ve liked him in the movies and I liked him better in the books. He’s a guy in a hard spot (more charismatic brother, despicable father, reliant on others to bestow title on him), yet he makes do and does his duty. He’s fit and smart, and reading about him on Wikipedia, he was a character that sort of appeared without plan for Tolkien. My favorite kind of character.

The Page 48 Challenge

Hannah @ Booking in Heels

  •  Turn to page 48 of your current book, or 48% if you’re using an e-reader.
  •  Take the first complete sentence on that page and copy it.
  •  Now you’re going to continue the story! Ignoring the real plot or anything else you know about that book, add four new sentences of your very own. You can morph the plot completely, kill everybody off or go off on a huge tangent – anything goes!

Not quite my current read yet, but my easiest to find a page 48 in: Carter Beats the Devil by Glen David Gold

From pg. 48: “Treat yourself to an invigorating cure!”

snakeoilMy extension:

“Treat yourself to an invigorating cure!”

Felicia found the brayer that had set up opposite Benderbeau’s shop extremely annoying. While she was all for invigoration, her favorite drink was Lemon Zip after all, she couldn’t abide a snake oil salesmen. “I’m going out there to have a word with him,” she muttered and was past the ill-fitting screen door before her employer had a chance to counsel against it. Benderbeau wasn’t surprised when Felicia returned twenty minutes later with a case of lightly fizzing “cure.”

I cheated a little. Felicia and Benderbeau are characters I’ve written in the past, but this is absolutely something that Felicia would do.

Rewrite the Synopsis

Faye @ A Daydreamer’s Thoughts

Your challenge, if you choose to accept it, is to take any of the books that you have read for this read-a-thon (or plan to read over the last three days), and re-write the synopsis just from the books cover. The aim is to make it sounding completely different from the original synopsis!

Ed Genepri is in a tough spot.

On the run from bookies, Ed is offered a low-interest loan to cover his debts. The only catch, and a big catch it is, is that he’ll be running errands for Titania, Queen of the Fae, until he pays back the money. Unfortunately, Ed lacks any knowledge of the Seely Court. He figures the cute chick with the dragonfly wings is an easy dupe. When Ed fails to show for a job, he finds out just how far her pixie magic extends.

Now, Ed is nothing but a rainbow in a suit, trying to make good.

10 thoughts on “Bout of Books 6.0 ~ Goal & Progress Post

  1. Aside from Storm of Swords, I haven’t heard of any of the books you’ve listed. But I love that you’re trying to improve on your page numbers from past read-a-thons. That’s so awesome. I wish you luck!

  2. Oooh, how have I not discovered your blog before? I mean, really! Carter Beats the Devil is on my wishlist; so is the Prose Edda, which I’m taking a wild guess is what you referenced up there, no? I still haven’t started A Game of Thrones, which makes me feel like I’m a million years behind the rest of the universe, but oh well. I totally crushed on Inigo Montoya in the book and a TINY bit in the film, which has made Homeland slightly uncomfortable viewing. Sherlock’s hot but yes, just a TAD intense *coughs*. I still haven’t made it all the way through Dracula, but that’s probably because I was about 12 when I last tried and was in love with Gary Oldman at the time. Faramir… hmmm. I’m more of an elf girl myself. 😀

Leave a Reply

