Bout of Books 6.0 Wrap-Up

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 7th and runs through Sunday, January 13th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 6.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. –From the Bout of Books 6.0 team

GOALS

My goal was to read 600 pages over the course of the week. I ended up reading…~827 pages. Which is the most I’ve read during a week-long readathon!

What I Read

Finished Man in the Empty Suit, which wasn’t bad, but a little slow toward the end. The middle of the week was busy for me with lots of ultimate frisbee to be played and scheduled. I managed to read a few short stories I happened on (“Selkie Stories Are for Losers” by Sofia Samatar“Trixie and the Pandas of Dread” by Eugie Foster, “The Passing of Grandmother’s Quilt” by Cat Rambo and a couple chapters of A Storm of Swords to catch up with the Tor read-through. Fried from Wednesday, I spent Thursday pretty much reading the entire day. Read The Specimen, which might be one of the few “one star” books I’ve ever finished. Usually, I give up on books after about 50 pages, but this one kept me reading until the bitter end, hoping for better than I got. To blast the memory of a bad book from my head, I jumped over to the library’s digital collection. I needed something completely different. I ended up with Sorry Please Thank You, an joy to read. It put me over the top page-count-wise. Speculative fiction short stories for the win!

What Else I Did

Participated in a couple challenges, attended one of the chats, but most importantly, I actually got some writing work done last week! Luck for Hire is polished up and ready to be sent to some agents. So far, January is treating me pretty well.

Big, huge thanks to Amanda and Kelly for once again organizing and hosting a great readathon!

6 thoughts on “Bout of Books 6.0 Wrap-Up

  1. Boooo to the crap book – and thanks for the warning, I’ve seen The Specimen around a couple of blogs recently and the cover’s kinda pretty so I might have been tempted! Hooray for all the other stuff though – GOOD books, chatting and generally having a fun week! It’s been a pleasure… 🙂

  2. Don’t you just love it when you meet your page count goals. I love those kind of goals for readathons. I like your idea of read short stories, maybe I will do that next time. I have a few collections I haven’t picked up in months/years.

Leave a Reply

