A Winter’s Respite Read-a-Thon

A Winter’s Respite – Hosted by Michelle of The True Book Addict

As with my previous read-a-thons, it will be a week of relaxed reading during which we can personally challenge ourselves and whittle away those ever looming TBR piles/shelves/libraries.  I hope you will join me! I will not be hosting any mini-challenges, as we learned from my last two read-a-thons, focusing on the reading rocks. However, if anyone else would like to host a mini-challenge, you are more than welcome. We will have a few scheduled Twitter chats again (and perhaps some more reading sprints). Our twitter hashtag is #WintersRespite

GOALS

I seem to do terrible during Michelle’s readathons, through absolutely no fault of the host. But, like an insane person, I will try again. Also, I seem more focused on working when I’m readathon-ing. At least this is the case in 2013. I haven’t gotten much done reading- or writing-wise since Bout of Books. My goal ~500 pages, mainly because New Year Fest is Saturday and Sunday. I’m playing as well as helping out, so I’m probably not going to get much reading done. List of possible reading materials:

BOOKS TO READ

Loaned to Me:
Carter Beats the Devil by Glen David Gold (starting at 17%)

From the Library:
The Caves of Steel by Isaac Asimov (starting at 21%) Finished

ARCs:
The Revenge of Moriarty by John Gardner

From the Bookshelf:
Finish Behind the Scenes with Mediums by David Phelps Abbott (starting at pg. 181)
The Unknown Poe, edited by Raymond Foye
Maybe few Sherlock Holmes stories.

UPDATES

MONDAY
Number of pages I’ve read today: ~44
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~44
Books: The Caves of Steel (21%-42%, ~44 pages)
Writing work done: Finished a faux news article for husband’s writing project.
Notes: The evening was semi derailed by cleaning out the storage room in advance of getting a new water heater.

TUESDAY
Number of pages I’ve read today: ~52
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~96
Books: The Caves of Steel (42%-67%, ~52 pages)
Writing work done: Submitted Luck for Hire to another agent and Model Species to another agent.
Notes: I had a game of ultimate frisbee in the evening. My team won! Yay!

WEDNESDAY
Number of pages I’ve read today: ~80
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~176
Books: The Caves of Steel (67%-100%, ~68 pages), Behind the Scenes with Mediums by David Phelps Abbott (pg. 181-193)
Writing work done: Wrote another faux news article for husband’s project.
Notes: Had a game of frisbee at noon, had to update websites.

THURSDAY
Number of pages I’ve read today: ~36
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~212
Books: Behind the Scenes with Mediums by David Phelps Abbott (pg. 193-209), “The Problem at Thor Bridge” by Arthur Conan Doyle (~20 pages)
Writing work done: Also reread about twenty pages of my husband’s manuscript and rewrote part of an faux news report.
Notes: Just out of sorts today. I’ve not been sleeping well and have been feeling very hermity.

FRIDAY
Number of pages I’ve read today: ~100
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~312
Books: Carter Beats the Devil by Glen David Gold (17%-37%, ~100 pages)
Writing work done: None, though Carter Beats the Devil is kinda sorta research for the book I’m working on (as is Behind the Scenes with Mediums).
Notes: Haven’t slept well for the past couple nights. Spent much of today napping.

SATURDAY
Number of pages I’ve read today: ~30
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~342
Books: Via Multo, a couple of David H. Keller tales (~10 pages, I guess). Carter Beats the Devil by Glen David Gold (37%-41%, ~20 pages)
Writing work done: None.
Notes: Ultimate frisbee rained out. 😦 Caught up on sleep, somewhat.

SUNDAY
Number of pages I’ve read today: ~31
Total number of pages I’ve read: ~373
Books: Read “Intestate” by Charlie Jane Anders (~8 pages), “Surrounded by the Mutant Rain Forest” by Bruce Boston (~3 pages), Carter Beats the Devil by Glen David Gold (41%-51%, ~20 pages)
Writing work done: None.
Notes: Ultimate frisbee tournament cancelled. Back to being way behind on sleep.

6 thoughts on “A Winter’s Respite Read-a-Thon

Leave a Reply

