Winter’s Respite Wrap-Up & #NaNoReMo

A Winter’s Respite – Hosted by Michelle of The True Book Addict

Wrap-Up

When I set my goal for Winter’s Respite, I debated 400 or 500 pages. I should have gone low. Oh, well. I finished The Caves of Steel by Isaac Asimov, read chunks of Behind the Scenes with Mediums and Carter Beats the Devil, and read a few short stories. All in all, ~373 pages. Probably more than I  would have considering the week I had. With the end of winter leagues, New Year Fest, and the beginning spring league, I’ve been pretty busy with website duties. New Year Fest was rained out, but I was still up way too early (for me) on Saturday and Sunday. Lack of sleep led to me doing less mentally intense things, like playing EQ2 & Vanguard and watching a disc of Homeland. Work-wise, I wrote a few faux news articles for my husband’s project and did some research for my next project.

#NaNoReMo

Starting February 1st, John Wiswell is hosting National Novel Reading Month. Last year, #NaNoReMo snuck up on me and I was left envying the hashtaggery and great discussion of classics. The rules are simple:

  1. Find a classic novel you’ve never read, preferably one you’ve been meaning to read for a long time.
  2. “Classic” is up to your definition. If you feel Beloved is a Modern Classic, you read it.
  3. Between February 1st and 28th, read the book.
  4. Join in on Twitter, blogs and Facebook to discuss your journey through the classic. You’re even welcome to come back discuss the books in comments threads on this post.

My pick is In Cold Blood by Truman Capote. Is it a novel? Is it a classic? Have I ever been known to actually follow the rules? Regardless, I’ve had In Cold Blood on my shelf for a while. As far as I can remember, I’ve never read any Capote either and I probably should though this book may be an outlier in his canon. My back-up is The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins. It would be *the* choice, but I’m a bit mired in the 19th century with a few other projects and I figure I need some contrast.

2 thoughts on “Winter’s Respite Wrap-Up & #NaNoReMo

  1. I’ve read none of Capote’s long fiction and it leaves me feeling like a heel, but it’s feelings like those that made me push for this game. Hope In Cold Blood treats you, Katherine. Maybe it’ll get me off my butt to try his work.

  2. You did well! Thanks for joining me. I hope you enjoyed it. 🙂

    I’m working on drawing the winners for the giveaway. Please let me know if you would like the free ebook copy of John David’s short story (info on the read-a-thon prize page). This is separate from the other prizes. He’s giving away a free copy to all participants. Email me at truebookaddictATgmailDOTcom

Leave a Reply

