What Else in April

Writing Work

Abbott, David P. "Spiritualistic Materialization and Other Mediumistic Phenomena." The Open Court. May 1919, 33/5. 263
Abbott, David P. “Spiritualistic Materialization and Other Mediumistic Phenomena.” The Open Court. May 1919, 33/5. 263

Continued work on my second draft of One Ahead. Discovered that I can read period issues of the Omaha Bee online. Spent a week doing more research. Rewrote what I had written of my second draft of One Ahead. I still feel that I need to nail down more details.

Eric and I have been talking about how I need to play to my strengths more and take more chances in my writing. (Well, he’s been talking. I’ve been growling at him because he’s right.) One of my strengths may be comedy. What I am good at is feigning competence, so maybe comedy isn’t a strength. I may just be faking myself out. But, I guess I don’t really have much to lose. I’m considering adding a character. I’m in the mulling it over stage.

Query-wise:

# of submissions for Luck for Hire: 8
# of responses: 5, and one bounced email address
# of submissions for Model Species: 2
# of responses: 0

Other Life Stuff

Babysat Hailey and Hannah a couple weekends ago. That’s always fun and makes me appreciate mothers.

Spring league ultimate frisbee playoffs were this past Saturday, causing me to once again miss Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-thon. Playoffs were good. The team I was on made it all the way to finals, meaning we played four games between 2:20pm and 9:30pm. It was the first really warm day of spring too. The high, which occurred about the time we started playing, was  97 degrees. I was happy with how my body held up. We had five women on the team so we were able to spread out our playing time. I stayed hydrated, energized, and my hips/back only started to really bother me during the last game. I’m back to being optimistic about still playing when I’m 40.

Books Obtained

  • Territory by Emma Bull
  • Eyeing the Flash: The Making of a Carnival Con Artist by Peter Fenton

Other Stuff Read

The stand-out short story that I read in April is John Chu’s “The Water That Falls on You from Nowhere”. I predict that it will be on some ballet next year. Not only because of the subject matter, but because of damn fine writing.

Other Books I Want to Read

At Goodreads:

  • Eighty Days coverRedshirts by John Scalzi
  • The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult
  • The Town That Forgot How to Breathe by Kenneth J. Harvey
  • The Dark Water: The Strange Beginnings of Sherlock Holmes by David Pirie
  • Breed by Chase Novak
  • The Last Love of George Sand: A Literary Biography by Evelyn Bloch-Dano

At the Greater Phoenix Digital Library:

  • Eighty Days by Matthew Goodman
  • The Tel Aviv Dossier by Lavie Tidhar
2 thoughts on “What Else in April

  1. Have you tried writing a humor piece from scrap and testing it on a set of betas, perhaps 5- or 7-people wide? Just to see if it’s a real strength when you have to play it forward? Could be a way of identifying and refining.

    1. Eh, I was mostly grumping at myself. Eric points out that my strength is “silly” rather than straight comedy. If I consider what I have had published, there are a few silly data points in existence. 😉

Leave a Reply

