Review ~ The Prince of Mist

The Prince of Mist by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Cover via Goodreads

A mysterious house harbors an unimaginable secret…

It’s wartime, and the Carver family decides to leave the capital where they live and move to a small coastal village. But from the minute they cross the threshold of their new home, strange things begin to happen. In that mysterious house still lurks the spirit of Jacob, the previous owners’ son, who died by drowning.

With the help of their new friend Roland, Max and Alicia Carver begin to explore the strange circumstances of that death and discover the existence of a mysterious being called the Prince of Mist; a diabolical character who has returned from the shadows to collect on a debt from the past. Soon the three friends find themselves caught up in an adventure of sunken ships and an enchanted stone garden; an adventure that will change their lives forever. (via Goodreads)

I’ve been meaning to read Carlos Ruiz Zafón. He seems to be a very interesting author. This is one of the first books he published and is middle grade/YA. I picked it up because I wanted a nice little scare and that’s pretty much what I got. It reminded me of Lady in White and Something Wicked This Way Comes,  the film rather than the book. It’s certainly something I’d recommend to my niece, Gwen, who is currently on the prowl for fun ghost stories.

My main complaint is that the individual pieces don’t quite hang together in the plot. It’s sort of a conglomeration of spooky things, but there isn’t quite enough explanation  as to why all the pieces should fit together. I *did* very much liked the not entirely happy ending. I’ll be reading more Zafón.

Genre: YA Ghost Story Mystery
Why did I choose to read this book? After 14, I was still in a sort of Scooby-Doo mood. With its mysterious house and shipwreck, it fit the bill.
Did I finish this book? (If not, why?) Finished in a couple of days.
Craft Lessons: A couple of spooky things does not a spooky plot make.
Format: Kindle ebook
Procurement: Greater Phoenix Digital Library

2013transchallenge-3

Leave a Reply

