Summer Lovin’ Day 1: Class Orientation

Today’s Participation Discussion is all about getting to know each other.

Tell us a little bit about yourself – Where are you from? What got you reading? What’s your favorite genre? What are your goals for this read-a-thon?

I’m reading in the toasty state of Arizona. Toast, in Arizona, only requires bread and pavement. I can’t complain though. I’m originally from Nebraska and, after 13 years living in Tempe, AZ, I’ve found that dislike midwestern winters more than southwestern summers.

My grandfather and mother were readers and they passed on the love to me. I like a lot of different genres, but mysteries are probably my favorites, though not necessarily formula mysteries. More like mystery tinged other genres. I will admit, I’m not a big fan of YA. Just not my thing right now. Lately, I’ve been doing research for the book I’m writing, a historical fiction based around a magician and spiritualism debunker who lived in Omaha, NE in the early 20th century. Therefore, I’ve been enjoying many books about/featuring magic and magicians.  I blog mostly to keep track of what I read and what I might learn about writing craft. I’ve found that I enjoy writing about books much more than I do writing about writing.

My goal for the week is pretty meager: 600 pages. I’m in the midst of a first (second?) draft of my novel, and I intend to add a good 5000 words to my manuscript this week. I love reading, but the writing needs to get done too. Here’s my reading fodder:

Cobweb Bride (Cobweb Bride Trilogy, #1) Carniepunk A Collection of Works: Smoke and Steel / Slabs of the Sunburnt West / Good Morning, America Now You See It . . . Tricks Of The Mind

Or, you know, whatever might strikes my fancy. I’m a moody reader.

Teaser Tidbit Challenge

Hosted by Tamara @ Shelf Addiction

  • Grab the book you’re currently reading (or recently read)
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page  NO spoilers allowed! Choose passages void of spoilers. The goal is to entice, yet not ruin the book for others!

The Last Greatest Magician in the World: Howard Thurston versus Houdini & the Battles of the American WizardsThe last book I read that I can actually riffle through randomly (a chore with these new-fangled ebooks) was The Last Greatest Magician in the World: Howard Thurston versus Houdini & the Battles of the American Wizards by Jim Steinmeyer. From pg 212:

“His audience–indeed, even Fred Keating–could never have imagined him as a poorly educated street urchin, a carnival confidence man, a failed performer whiling away his time on a Union Square park bench, or a magician so desperate that he would pawn his entire show to a loan shark. Those were the real secrets.”

7 thoughts on “Summer Lovin’ Day 1: Class Orientation

  1. I’m also juggling writing and reading. It’s hard to strike a good balance! And I’m from AZ. It’s definitely a good week to have a read-a-thon…too hot to go outside! Good luck with your goals!

Leave a Reply

