Back to School Reading Challenge Check-In (08/14/13)

Back-to-School-logo
Hosted by Joy of Joy’s Book Blog

I haven’t finished or reviewed anything yet for the Back to School Reading Challenge, but I like the idea of reminding myself about what I may have learned in the past week.

I started reading The Glorious Deception last Wednesday and have finished about a third of it. Much of it has been about William Robinson’s development of his black art routine. Black art isn’t as occult as it sounds. French magician Omar Pasha still performs such an act:

Also sifted through articles on magic from the 20s and 30s, including material on Houdini’s exposure of David P. Abbott’s talking teakettle. Abbott was pretty gentlemanly about the whole deal. While I now know the secret behind the teakettle, it’s the amount of preparation and work behind the trick that tell me something about both Mr. and Mrs. Abbott.

How Children Succeed: Grit, Curiosity, and the Hidden Power of CharacterMy local digital library only had How Children Succeed as an audio book download. Despite my dislike for audio books, I checked it out. I’ll admit it: I’m not very good at listening. We’ll see how this goes.

Listened to the Introduction this morning.

Interesting in learning new things? Check in with the other check-ins!

2 thoughts on “Back to School Reading Challenge Check-In (08/14/13)

  1. joyweesemoll

    Looks like you got a lot of research done this week! Love the video — black magic because the color black is so important.

    I’ve not succeeded very well with audio books, either, so I’ll be interested to see how this goes for you.

  2. Pingback: Back to School Reading Challenge and Wednesday Book Club — August 21 | Joy's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

