Bout of Books 8.0

Bout of Books
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 19th and runs through Sunday, August 25th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 8.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

I have a fever and prescription is MORE READING!

GOALS / WRAP-UP

The goal? The usual: 600 pages.
Which was apparently too much for me this week. I read 471 pages. Not bad for me for a week, but in the low end for BoB. Oh well. Still had fun. Finished up a few books that were in progress. All is good!

READING LIST

What I was going to read:

The Glorious Deception: The Double Life of William Robinson, aka Chung Ling Soo, the "Marvelous Chinese Conjurer" The 7th Woman Shadow Show: All-New Stories in Celebration of Ray Bradbury The Unknown Poe

What I ended up reading:

The Glorious Deception: The Double Life of William Robinson, aka Chung Ling Soo, the "Marvelous Chinese Conjurer"
Finished the last 1/3
Cover of: Revelations of a spirit medium by Elijah Farrington
First 26 pgs

Finished last 160 pages
Shadow Show: All-New Stories in Celebration of Ray Bradbury
Read 3 s. stories

Finished the last 40 pages

First 40 pgs

PROGRESS

Sunday 8/22

Reading/Read:

  • The Picture of Dorian Gray , pg 5-40 (36)
  • Slabs of the Sunburnt West by Carl Sandburg, pg 56-76 (21)
  • A Storm of Swords, pg 884-924 (41)

# of pages daily/total: 98 / 471
Notes: A Storm of Swords was a reread for me, but strangely I remembered very little of its second half. Also finished up the Sandburg I’ve been reading and started Dorian Gray.

Saturday 8/22

Reading/Read:

  • A Storm of Swords, pg 803-883 (81)
  • Shadow Show, pg 186-209 (24)
  • Slabs of the Sunburnt West by Carl Sandburg, pg 34-55 (22)

# of pages daily/total: 127 / 373
Notes: Made a stab at finishing A Storm of Swords. So close! It’s unlikely that I’m going to hit my goal, but you never know.
Challenge:

  • Bookish Wishes @ Kelsey’s Cluttered Bookshelf
    Question 2: There’s lots of books out there, but is there one that you’ve been dying to read that doesn’t seem to be written yet? Describe it briefly.
    My (long) answer: I believe in the philosophy of authors writing the books they’d want to read. I try to do that, for better or worse, whenever I write. That said, there are definitely stories I wouldn’t know how to write. Currently, the book I would want to read that doesn’t exist would be a biography of Joseph Freud, marginally better known to the world today as Joseffy. He’s the one with the fabulous mustache on my blog’s wallpaper. I’m appropriating him for my historical fiction novel, but I wish there was a real biography of Joseffy. Born in Vienna in 1873 (maybe a relative of Sigmund Freud, maybe a relative of Franz Joseph), he had a falling out with his parents as a teenager, traveled Europe, came to America, learned magic, traveled with the Lyceum lecture circuit, gave up performing to found his own company and work on electrical and mechanical inventions, and after he retired, he was (supposedly) involved in the US’s technological efforts in WWII. Up until his death in 1946, he was still visiting friends in the US and Mexico and occasionally, very occasionally, presenting his best known trick, the Skull of Balsamo. Plus, by all accounts, he was a bit of a nut (in a good way). I hope I can do him justice with my caricature, but I’m a little sad that he or someone else never recorded his adventures.

Friday 8/22

Reading/Read: Uh…
# of pages daily/total: Err…
Amount written: Um…
Notes:  Sometimes it’s really nice to relax with your spouse. On the plus side, I’m feeling much better.

Thursday 8/22

Reading/Read:

  • Shadow Show, pg 165-185
  • Revelations of a Spirit Medium, pg 18-26
  • The 7th Woman – 4% (about 4 pages)
  • A Storm of Swords, pg 762-802

# of pages daily/total: 75 / 246
Amount written: -144, +slightly more than that.
Notes: Started The 7th Woman, but it’s just not working out for me. Also headachy and the 19th century contingent on my list isn’t helping.
Challenge: None for me today.

Wednesday 8/21

Reading/Read:

  • Shadow Show, pg 143-164
  • Revelations of a Spirit Medium, glossary (lx-lxiv, 5 pages), preface (iii-vi, 4 pages), and finally starting on page 7-17

# of pages daily/total: 42 / 171
Amount written: I did edit and added 500 words yesterday. My writing time seems to be late in the day. *cough*
Notes: Another Minecraft day. And I know I said I wasn’t going to do challenges if I didn’t get writing done, but this one was too fun to pass up!
Challenge:

  • TBR List Challenge @ Musings of a Bookship Girl
    Ellie asks:

    1. Which 5 books are at the top of your TBR pile at this moment?
    2. If I gave you a wad of cash and sent you into a bookshop right now, which 5 books would you buy to add to the stack?

    My answers:
    I have some ARCs to read before publication date and then (maybe) a Gothic readathon coming up in September so aside from the above:

    A Study in Silks (The Baskerville Affair, #1) The Seance Society: A Mystery A White Room The Picture of Dorian Gray The Kiss Murder

    Okay, the wad of cash is going to have to be pretty substantial and the bookstore *very* inclusive (at least for my first and last choices; limited edition books are evil):

    House of Mystery: The Magic Science of David P. Abbott (Volume #1)Art and Artifice and Other Essays of Illusion Who Was Dracula?: Bram Stoker's Trail of Blood Carter Beats the Devil The Janus Tree and Other Stories

Tuesday 8/20

Reading/Read:

  • The Glorious Deception, pg 377-419

# of pages daily/total: 43 / 129
Amount written: As of 22:14 CST, I’m working on that. *cough*
Notes: Ended up getting sucked into Minecraft. Managed to finish reading The Glorious Deception.
Challenge:
The Glorious Deception: The Double Life of William Robinson, aka Chung Ling Soo, the "Marvelous Chinese Conjurer"

  • Re-Title It @ Music Plus Books
    Laura’s Challenge: All you have to do is rename the book you’re currently reading!
    My Response: The Glorious Deception or The Disappearance of a Great American Magician

Monday 8/19

Reading/Read:

  • The Glorious Deception, pg 320-376
  • “A Series of Sittings with Eva C.” Proceedings for the Society for Psychical Research. Vol. 32, 1922.  pg 227-255

# of pages daily/total: 86 / 86
Amount written: It’s edit day. I’ve added about 500 words to the manuscript and have about 12 more pages to go through.
Notes: I started with the Central Timezone because…it’s just easier that way. Wanted to finish The Glorious Deception, but got kind of busy this afternoon post-Twitter chat. Did some research reading.
Challenges:

  • #Pairathon Challenge
  • Bookish Bucket List @ Sarah Says Read
    Sarah asks: What is one bookish thing you want to do before you die?
    My response: I’m really bad at bucket lists due to the whole “before I die” clause. The one bookish thing that I’d really like to do is, not die until I’ve read all the good books that exist. That’s not too much to ask, is it? 😉 Although, I will settle for being a ghost and haunting a library.
12 thoughts on “Bout of Books 8.0

  1. Hey Katharine
    Welcome to Bout of Books!

    Looks like you got some great books to read this week. Hope that you enjoy all of them!

    If this is your first bout of books, I just want to introduce myself to you. I’m Faye and I’m an expert this week, so if you need any help or have any queries, feel free to ask me! You can contact me in my comments (here) or catch me on twitter (@daydreamin_star).

    Otherwise I hope that you have a great read-a-thon and manage to win all of your goals!
    Looking forward to reading along with you!

    Faye 😀

  2. Hi stranger! I love that you took the “wad of cash” thing and ran with it. Not many people seem to have twigged that they could go for expensive books as well as regular ones! SUCH IS THE POWER OF IMAGINARY MONEY.

    GET READING DORIAN GRAY IT’S AMAZING. That’s an order. And I really want to read Carter Beats the Devil – we had a copy at the shop, but I didn’t dare smuggle it home while we were packing to move and now it’s gone! Maybe we’ll get another one. Thanks for playing along, and good luck when I eventually get round to the giveaway (I sort of missed a day yesterday, I’m a bit behind!)… 🙂

    1. I was loaned Carter Beats the Devil. After I finished it, I didn’t *think* that it was the kind of book I’d want to read again. Now, I wish I was one of those people who never returns books… Or at least kept it another few months! Or that I wasn’t so cheap. That would help too.

      All right, all right! Dorian Gray. He’s been bumped up the list. 😉

  3. My goal feels like it’s slipping away from me too, but we shall continue on! I mean, when it’s reading it’s not like we can ever LOSE, right? -_^ Good luck on the last day!

Leave a Reply

