Saturday Cinema ~ R.I.P. Edition, Vol. 1

Ticket3

File:Trance2013Poster.jpgTrance (2013) Directed by Danny Boyle, Written by Joe Ahearne & John Hodge, Starring James McAvoy, Rosario Dawson, Vincent Cassel.

An art auctioneer who has become mixed up with a group of criminals partners with a hypnotherapist in order to recover a lost painting.

I am never disappointed with Danny Boyle’s films. No matter what the genre and how well that particular genre might be executed (Sunshine is SF, 28 Days Later is horror, etc.), the films are visually interesting and well-acted. Trance is a twisty, twisty thriller. At its end, I was left saying, “Huh,” and felling that I should probably re-watch it. Not because I was confused, but to see if the pieces all fit. I was a dubious of the hypnosis aspect, but with a little suspension of belief, it works.

File:Twixt poster.JPG Twixt (2011) Directed and Written by Francis Ford Coppola, Starring Val Kilmer, Bruce Dern, Elle Fanning & Ben Chaplin.

A writer with a declining career arrives in a small town as part of his book tour and gets caught up in a murder mystery involving a young girl. That night in a dream, he is approached by a mysterious young ghost named V.

And also, there’s Edgar Allan Poe. Okay, a dream version of Edgar Allan Poe, but that’s how this movie rolls. Really, it’s kind of a mess. There are vampires (maybe) and a serial killer (maybe) and opera singing goths and a seven-faced clock tower in a backward little town. I had been on the lookout for this movie due to the Poe connection and due to a clip of Val Kilmer writing. I had seen it somewhere previous to the movie’s release. If you’re a writer, this is painful and funny:

File:Clue Poster.jpgClue (1985) Directed by Jonathan Lynn
Written by John Landis & Jonathan Lynn, Starring: Eileen Brennan, Tim Curry, Madeline Kahn, Christopher Lloyd, Michael McKean & Martin Mull.

Six guests are invited to a strange house and must cooperate with the staff to solve a murder mystery.

That has got to be the driest possible summary for Clue. Thank you, IMDB.

I was inspired to watch Clue when I came upon a link to the BuzzFeed article: “Something Terrible Has Happened Here”: The Crazy Story Of How “Clue” Went From Forgotten Flop To Cult Triumph. I was ten years old when Clue premiered. (In fact, it opened one day before my 11th birthday.) I remember the movie coming out and its wacky three endings/three theater gimmick. While I had already gained an appreciation for the game, I didn’t see it in the theaters. My family didn’t go to the movies much. But I was pretty enthusiastic when it came out on cable a year or so later. I liked it as a kid and gained a deeper appreciation for it as an adult. I don’t know how many times I rented it from the local Blockbuster when I was in college. I had absolutely no idea that it had been a flop. Doesn’t everyone love Clue?

rip8perilonscreenAll the Peril!

2 thoughts on “Saturday Cinema ~ R.I.P. Edition, Vol. 1

  1. Haha, I’ve never seen Clue but you’ve made me want to go and check it out on IMDB!
    I haven’t seen your others movies to be honest but I do like Danny Boyle so will take a look at that.
    Thanks
    Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

