Omaha Book Haul

I’ve been in Omaha since last Wednesday, so my usual Tuesday review will be posted on Thursday. Instead, I figured I’d indulge in a book haul post. Rare for me since I avoid bookstores…for financial and space reasons. It’s a fast I break when away from home. I guess as hauls go, it’s pretty small, but it’s mine.

LightningI visited two stores in downtown Omaha. The first was Our Bookstore in the Old Market Passageway. It’s a small shop with an eclectic stock. There I purchased Lightning by Jean Echenoz. Via Goodreads: “Drawn from the life of Nikola Tesla, one of the greatest inventors of his time,
Lightning is a captivating tale of one man’s curious fascination with the marvels of science.”

I also mildly ransacked the magic section of Jackson Street Booksellers. And a good magic section they have. I left a couple titles on the shelves and lamented the three Jim Steinmeyer hardbacks that I already own in softback. I did walk away with:

  • The Life and Many Deaths of Harry Houdini by Ruth Brandon – I’ve heard here and there that this a pretty good Houdini book.
  • The Magician and the Cardsharp: The Search for America’s Greatest Sleight-of-Hand Artist by Karl Johnson – Not the era of magic I’m writing about but still interesting.
  • The Magician’s Study: A Guided Tour of the Life, Times, and Memorabilia of Robert “The Great” Rouncival by Tobias Seamon – A curious volume.

The Life and Many Deaths of Harry Houdini The Magician and the Cardsharp: The Search for America's Greatest Sleight-of-Hand Artist The Magician's Study: A Guided Tour of the Life, Times, and Memorabilia of Robert "The Great" Rouncival

And I came home to my very own copy of Carter Beats the Devil in my mailbox. Now all I need is a couple more hours in the day.

One thought on “Omaha Book Haul

  1. Pingback: What Else in September – The Writerly Reader

Leave a Reply

