Review ~ A Storm of Swords

A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin

Cover via Goodreads

Rarely has there been a tale as gripping, or one as likely to seize the minds and hearts of a generation, as George R. R. Martin’s epic high fantasy series. In A Game of Thrones, an ancient kingdom was torn by the ambitions of ruthless men and women; in A Clash of Kings, war, sorcery, and madness swept over the kingdom like a voracious beast of prey. Now, as the brutal struggle for power nears its tumultuous climax, the battered and divided kingdom faces its most terrifying invasion—one that is being spearheaded from beyond the grave… (via Goodreads)

This was a reread for me, but there were large swaths of the book that I didn’t remember. For example, the outcome of most of the weddings had been completely forgotten by me. The event that occurs at the very end, the one that left me utterly gob-smacked the first time I read it, I could have sworn came at the two-thirds mark of the book. (I see this event so vividly in my head that I had to look up whether it’s happened in the show yet. It hasn’t…)

Well, what is there to say about A Storm of Swords? It could be subtitled Four Weddings and a Bunch of Funerals. John and Catelyn annoy me through much of the book. They seem to kvetch about duty a lot, but at least John is incredibly competent at doing what needs to be done, while feeling guilty about it the entire time. (His father’s child, obviously.) Catelyn makes many decisions that involve a great number of people, but that really stand only to serve herself. (That could be where Rob gets it…) Personally, I am left a little heart-broken for Sansa. She is the poster child for this series. All she wanted was to be was a princess; instead, she’s doing her best at managing to be a pawn.

Some of Martin’s plots work better than others. I find the Unsullied to be a fairly ridiculous concept. (Now, if there were a magical aspect to their abilities and control, maybe they would work…) R’hllor on the other hand…interesting. I like A Song of Ice and Fire best when it’s being horror fantasy.

On the whole, I wasn’t itching to read A Feast for Crows until I started writing up this review of A Storm of Swords.

Genre: Fantasy
Why did I choose to read this book? Next in the series.
Did I finish this book? (If not, why?) It took over a year, but yes, I finished the damned thing.
Format: Arm-breaking hardback.
Procurement: Probably Bookmans
Bookmark: My “Go on Adventures” corner marker.

One thought on “Review ~ A Storm of Swords

  1. I feel bad for Sansa too. She is my favorite character in the series, because I see her growing so much across this series. I just got the audio book for A Feast for Crows from the library, so I will see if I will still like Sansa!

Leave a Reply

