What Else in November

Writing Work

modelSpeciesCoverLarge6Despite NaNoWriMo dreams, I didn’t quite get 10K added to the Abbott project. Instead, Eric and I have been working on the Big Damn Plan. By the end of next week, the website should be online and Model Species should be available for download.

Query-wise:

# of submissions for Luck for Hire: 6
# of responses: 1
# of submissions for Model Species: 0
# of responses: 1

Other Life Stuff

Basketball season began, signifying the beginning of winter for me. Fall league ended, signifying…uh, a week devoted to setting up winter league and New Year Fest. This is the busy time of year in Phoenix for disc. My team went 0-3 after winning the play-in game, but it was a fun team and my favorite part of finals is catching up with people I don’t see too often. You can’t do that when you’re actually playing in finals.

Photo courtesy Kris Kaufman
Photo courtesy Kris Kaufman

I have sort of a consternated grimace going on there. Also, I’ve seen several pics of me gripping the disc with both hands after catching. It’s not an action that I’m not conscious of. I find that interesting.

Also, there was Doctor Who‘s 50th anniversary, which I seem to be celebrating until the end of the year.

Books Obtained

River City Empire: Tom Dennison’s Omaha by Orville D. Menard

Other Books I Want to Read

At Goodreads:

  • Falling Free by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • The War MagicianThe Rabbit Back Literature Society by Pasi Ilmari Jaaskelainen
  • The Magician’s Assistant by Ann Patchett
  • The Troupe by Robert Jackson Bennett
  • The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
  • The War Magician by David Fisher
  • Dream London by Tony Ballantyne
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
  • Kindly Inquisitors: The New Attacks on Free Thought by Jonathan Rauch
  • The Color of Light by Helen Maryles Shankman
  • Trip of the Tongue: Cross-Country Travels in Search of America’s Languages by Elizabeth Little
  • The Blackheath Seance Parlour by Alan Williams
  • Affinity by Sarah Waters
One thought on “What Else in November

Leave a Reply

