Bout of Books 9.0

Bout of Books

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 6th and runs through Sunday, January 12th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 9.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Wrap-Up

Last week was probably not the best one for me to have “taken off” and had a readathon.  I was still trying to get rolling with work. I was divided and nothing got my full attention. I did read 500 pages, not much more, and finished the two book I wanted to finish. Wish I could have gotten another couple challenges in, but I did have fun with the ones I did and during the chats. 118 days until the next BoB!


Goal

According to my spread sheet, I averaged about 400 pages a week in December. That seems pretty low, even for me. I’m going to be wildly conservative and shoot for 500 pages for Bout of Books 9.0.

List

(As of 01/05/14 – subject to change)

Doctor Who: The Silent Stars Go By
Finished Last 50%
Mayhem
READ!
Tesla: Inventor of the Electrical Age

Plus probably some more of Dunninger’s Complete Encyclopedia of Magic (a tough one to read cover to cover in one go). And a short story for Deal Me In challenge.

Progress

Sunday
Number of Pages Read Today: 48
Total Number of Pages Read: 502
Books: The Magician’s Study pg 16-33, Tesla: Inventor of the Electrical Age pg 29-85

Saturday
Number of Pages Read Today: 71
Total Number of Pages Read: 454
Books: The Silent Stars Go By pg 272-292, “Expert Advice” short story pg 257-291, The Magician’s Study pg 1-15
Work Done & Other Notes: Honestly, got bit by a little Minecraft bug and ended up spending the morning after chat building.

Friday
Number of Pages Read Today: 94
Total Number of Pages Read: 383
Books: Tesla pg 16-28, The Silent Stars Go By pg 191-271
Work Done & Other Notes: More writing done today. More reading. Not much else.

Thursday
Number of Pages Read Today: 49
Total Number of Pages Read: 289
Books: Mayhem pg 216-264
Work Done & Other Notes: Wasn’t feeling too well and dottered around the internet too much. But I finished Mayhem and I’m not really behind on my goal.

Challenges:
Poem Challenge, hosted by Pen in Her Hand

Pick a number between 1 and 10. (I picked 9.)

1. Flip to a page at random. Using your trusty number count down that many lines. Then count in that many words. Write that word down. Repeat this process until your have fourteen words. (Using Tesla: Inventor of the Electrical Age, I ended up with : thunder I a struggling Atlantic construction the his jump to by in like of)

2. Delete two words and add in two words of your own. (I deleted the words to and byI added the words magnet and he. Which were two other line/word picks.)

3. Now arrange your words any way you like to finish your found poem! (I took some punctuation liberties.)

My poem worked out pretty well. Very Tesla-esque.

In his struggling jump
I, like the magnet Atlantic
He, a construction of thunder

Wednesday
Number of Pages Read Today: 88
Total Number of Pages Read: 240
Books: Mayhem pg 140-215, The Silent Stars Go By pg 179-190
Work Done & Other Notes: Went out to lunchtime ultimate frisbee, and then had my evening sucked up by some web site duties

Challenges:
Introduce Someone to Your Favorite Genre, hosted by Doing Dewey – “For this challenge, pick a book or a few books that you think would make a great introduction to your genre of choice.”

A tough challenge. I read fairly widely, but I don’t have a favorite genre or a genre in which I have expertise. As I loaded up The Secret Life of Houdini to listen to as I butchered, er, shaved my legs, I realized there is a genre that has brought me a lot of enjoyment recently: non-fiction. Non-fiction has a reputation for being dry and not very story oriented. It doesn’t have to be that way! Here are a few titles to try out is you haven’t read much non-fiction:

Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America Adventures in the Screen Trade

I’ve read several of Mary Roach’s books. They’ve all been good, but Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers is my favorite. Roach approaches all her topics with a dash of humor and engages on a personal level. Dead bodies make you feel awkward? Her too! It’s going to be okay. Erik Larson’s The Devil in the White City is perfect for historical fiction buffs. All of Larson’s books are meticulously researched, but he finds narratives in the details. In this case, the Devil is H. H. Holmes, an early US serial killer. On a lighter note, William Goldman has been writing for Hollywood for fifty-odd years. Adventures in the Screen Trade cover his early years, after Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid and All the President’s Men, but before The Princess Bride and Misery. It’s an interesting and comical look at Tinsel Town.

Tuesday
Number of Pages Read Today: 82
Total Number of Pages Read: 152
Books: Mayhem pg 67-139, The Silent Stars Go By pg 170-178
Work Done & Other Notes: Just in kind of a gloomy mood today. I read. I posted my review of The Frozen Deep for Wilkie in Winter. I napped a good long while.

Monday
Number of Pages Read Today: 70
Total Number of Pages Read: 70
Books: Mayhem pg 10-66, The Silent Stars Go By pg 157-169
Work Done & Other Notes: Did a bit of writing in the afternoon and then decided to go play ultimate frisbee in the evening. The weather was nice and I was feeling good enough physically to take advantage.

Challenges:
Book Buying Spree, hosted by Bookish Comforts – “Imagine if you will: you’ve just received some FANTASTIC news! You have won a $100 book buying spree! Now comes the hard part though: what books will you buy?!”
Shopping Spree

9 thoughts on “Bout of Books 9.0

  1. The Doctor Who book looks great! Somehow I always forget that there are books to fill in the time between episodes….
    Good luck with the Bout of Books!

  2. I thought about doing page count as a goal, then I wimped out and went by book, which I may shorted to novella, come next Friday! Lol. This will be my first read-a-thon and I’m quite looking forward to it. No book choices from me yet though… Yours look good, enjoy!

  3. Oh, great to see Stiff is your favourite Mary Roach book – I was also thinking I will try this one next (I have read other bloggers having enjoyed it as well). And I also have Erik Larson’s book planned for this year, great recommendations!

    Good luck for the weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

