What Else in February

Book Economy

The Art of MagicRead: 3

  • Print: 0
  • Ebooks: 3
  • ARCs: 1

Acquired:

  • The Grey Woman and Others by Elizabeth Gaskell
  • The Art of Magic by T. Nelson Downs
  • Magic in Mind, ed. by Joshua Jay
  • Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling

I’ve decided to give up on the TBR Triple Dog Dare Challenge. My hypothesis is that new, shiny books power my reading. We’ll see if that’s the case. I’ve been in a slump as I’ve tried to keep to a restricted list. I am, at heart, a glutton. Being surrounded by books I cannot read is a real downer.

Writing Work

Released Divine Fire on Saturday. It’s the second book in the Apothic Man series. There have been 512 downloads the first book, Model Species. Yes, around the Nabity household we’ve been celebrating 2^9 downloads. Hopefully, two or three people in the world are enjoying our books. Both are available from Smashwords and other outlets. More details on the sidebar —>

We’ve decided to head toward self-publication for Pas de Chat and Luck for Hire as well. These are our two more main-stream novels. Pas de Chat is already available on the web for free in blog form, but we’re going to release a cleaned-up book version. In March, I plan on editing Pas de Chat, finishing up the extra story for the premium edition of Divine Fire, and then probably a read-through and formatting of Luck for Hire.

Other Life Stuff

Basketball! Nebraska was 5 of 7 in February. Which is the same record as my second favorite team, Arizona. The difference is that Arizona only has those two losses where Nebraska winning five in a row is pretty surprising. March will be interesting.

Ran the Skirt Chaser 5K for the fifth year in a row. Finished in 29:16. That’s better than 2013. Considering that I don’t think I ran less than a 11 minute mile in December and January, I was happy with that. Actually, I don’t even remember when I had last ran other than playing ultimate frisbee. Early January sometime, before I started playing twice a week.

League started Monday night. We lost our first game, but we’re fast and young (well, aside from me). I almost ended up not playing. During a game on the previous Friday, I strained my back. After a miserable weekend, it righted itself by Monday night. Bodies are stupid things.

One thought on “What Else in February

Leave a Reply

