Review ~ Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

Cover via Goodreads

Mindy Kaling has lived many lives: the obedient child of immigrant professionals, a timid chubster afraid of her own bike, a Ben Affleck–impersonating Off-Broadway performer and playwright, and, finally, a comedy writer and actress prone to starting fights with her friends and coworkers with the sentence “Can I just say one last thing about this, and then I swear I’ll shut up about it?”

Perhaps you want to know what Mindy thinks makes a great best friend (someone who will fill your prescription in the middle of the night), or what makes a great guy (one who is aware of all elderly people in any room at any time and acts accordingly), or what is the perfect amount of fame (so famous you can never get convicted of murder in a court of law), or how to maintain a trim figure (you will not find that information in these pages). If so, you’ve come to the right book, mostly!

In Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?, Mindy invites readers on a tour of her life and her unscientific observations on romance, friendship, and Hollywood, with several conveniently placed stopping points for you to run errands and make phone calls. Mindy Kaling really is just a Girl Next Door—not so much literally anywhere in the continental United States, but definitely if you live in India or Sri Lanka. (via Goodreads)

I don’t watch The Office, so I was unaware that Mindy Kaling has been famous for quite some time. I first noticed her on The Mindy Project, a show I enjoy. Being on the not-thin side of things, I get a little happy when an actress with a few curves gets to anchor a show. While I don’t read many (any?) celebrity books, I saw a few blogger friends review this one and figured it sounded like fun.

This is going to be an unusual review for me. I’m going to share a few quotes and then I’m going to give you my impression.

“Sometimes teenage girls ask me for advice about what they should be doing if they want a career like mine one day. There are basically two ways to get where I am: (1) learn a provocative dance and put it on YouTube; (2) convince your parents to move to Orlando and homeschool you until you get cast on a kids’ show, or do what I did, which is (3) stay in school and be a respectful and hardworking wallflower, and go to an accredited non-online university.”

“My parents get along because they are pals. … What do I mean by pals? It mostly means they want to talk about the same stuff all the time.”

And, lastly,

“Being called fat is not like being called stupid or unfunny, which is the worst thing you could ever say to me.”

While unapologetically irrational about some things, I was really surprised at how commonsensical Mindy Kaling is. She credits/blames being the child of immigrants and those values of hard work and respect match the Heartland culture I grew up in. Despite her love of fashion and being wrong about ultimate frisbee, I love that she’s saying these things. It’s not glamorous. In fact, it’s downright square. Do I hope that there’s some teenage girl out there who reads this book and realizes it’s okay to be studious, not have the perfect body, and wish for a pal for life? It’s cheesy, but yes.

Publisher: Crown Archetype
Publication date: November 1st 2011
Genre: Non-fiction, memoir
Why did I choose to read this book? Good word of mouth, rather enjoy The Mindy Project.

2 thoughts on “Review ~ Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

  1. Pingback: Armchair BEA ~ Topic of Choice: Non-fiction! | The Writerly Reader

Leave a Reply

