Deal Me In, Week 17 ~ “Eisenheim the Illusionist”

20140105-160356

Hosted by Jay @ Bibliophilopolis

“Eisenheim the Illusionist” by Steven Millhauser

Card picked: Ten of Diamonds

From: The Barnum Museum

Review: (Or, rather, some history of me being a procrastinator.)

2006 was a good year for magician movies. Two premiered that year: The Prestige featuring a whole host of post-Batman Begins stars including Christian Bale, Michael Caine, and Christopher Nolan (directing), and The Illusionist with the ever low-key Edward Nortan and the incomparable Paul Giamatti. I saw both in the theater well before magic became a full-blown research project/hobby. I like them both, but The Illusionist has become my absolute favorite.* It’s a smaller, more real story. Many of its narrative beats harken back to the magician “biographies” I’ve read, fanciful tales of mysterious mentors met on a journey.

But I’m getting ahead of myself. Both are based on written works and I love reading movie source materials. I managed to nab a copy of The Prestige by Christopher Priest fairly easily from PaperbackSwap, but Millhauser is more…literary. With fewer copies available on the secondary market. I hemmed and hawed and finally purchased The Barnum Museum on December 21, 2011, presumably with birthday money. So eager was I to read “Eisenheim the Illusionist” that I didn’t get to it until June of 2012! (A few months later Eric would suggest that I might write a novel about an early 20th century magician. There’s been no looking back.) I read another of the stories in the collection and, well, wasn’t as impressed.

For Deal Me In, I figured I’d finally finish reading The Barnum Museum (a mere three years after I purchased it), but I also wanted to give “Eisenheim” a reread. I enjoyed it well enough when I first read it, but (according to the notice of it) I found it tiring. “Eisenheim the Illusionist” is less visual than the other Millhauser stories I’ve read. He includes the names of many classic tricks and alludes to a plethora of magic devices, but doesn’t go out of his way to describe them. I assume this is what I found tiring previously. On a reread, after a year and a half of becoming familiar with the jargon, I weirdly found the details exhilarating. Millhauser definitely knows some magic history and has infused the story with it. This story also feels more rounded and satisfying than the others of his I’ve read, even though it is much more narratively loose than the movie. As I often say when discussing books to movies, both are good in their own way.

* Depending on the day of the week, The Prestige and last year’s Now You See Me vie for second place. Fourth is occupied by a rather fictitious Houdini pic called Death Defying Acts (2007). In fifth place is The Brothers Bloom (2008), which doesn’t feature a magician, but has a plot so filled with cons and misdirections that it’s more of a magic story than many of the tales in the Copperfield anthologies I’ve been reading. It also features voice over by Ricky Jay, which makes it a magical half-cousin at least. Jay was also an advisor on The Prestige and The Illusionist, appearing in the former.

10 thoughts on “Deal Me In, Week 17 ~ “Eisenheim the Illusionist”

  1. I thought “Now You See Me” was wonderful fun. I also preferred “The Illusionist” to “The Prestige”. Even though I enjoy Christian Bale and adore Michael Caine, I thought the film was too, I don’t know, Hollywood-y? It tried too hard. It was a popcorn movie that believed itself to be a serious movie.

    1. “a popcorn movie that believed itself to be a serious movie” I think that should probably be coined the Christian Bale effect. “Now you See Me” would totally win if they’d done a little more to nod to some classic tricks. There’s a couple of opportunities that they passed up. Still lots of fun.

  2. Pingback: Deal Me In – Week 17 Wrap Up | Bibliophilopolis

  3. I have the same sort of plague of procrastination. “I am sooo excited about this book! Which is why I’ve had it unread on my bookshelf for just 3 years…” Sometimes, I strongly suspect that there’s a part of my that views books like Pokemon: Gotta catch ’em all! And keep ’em on a shelf. And dust them and rearrange them and sigh over them… Yep – sad. 😉

  4. I saw The Illusionist when it first came out and enjoyed it. I usually like Edward Norton although I haven’t seen him in anything in a while.

    I have books on my shelf that have been unread for a very long time. Each year, I might get one or two checked off.
    -Dale

  5. This is the fifth Millhauser story that our DMI group had read this year (more than any other author so far).

    Do you suppose his knowledge of magic history is solely from research he did for this story, or does he maybe have some background in that area?

    1. I think when I first read it I assumed, “Well, anyone can throw together details,” but this time around it felt like they were very well used details. But I don’t know if that’s only my projection into the story now that I know a little more about magic history.

      I drew another low diamond, so I have another Millhauser story coming up this week.

  6. Pingback: The Best I Read in 2014 | The Writerly Reader

Leave a Reply

