Thoughtful Thursday: Book Covers

ThoughtfulThursday
Hosted by Pamela @ Reading is Fun Again

This Thursday’s question:

What features do you like in a book cover? Do you like plain covers? Do you like covers with drawings on them? Do you like covers with photographs on them? Do you like movie-tie in covers?

The Great Hunt (Wheel of Time, #2)
Who *are* these people? Were they in this novel?

Considering how many conversations I’ve had with my husband about the art for our novels, I have to admit that I don’t really have any strong feelings about book covers. I *will* make some judgements about a book based on the cover, but it’s not a function of whether I like the cover or not. For example, I’m as much of a fan of pretty Victorian dresses as the next girl, but I know many of those books are not the right fit for me.

Once I start reading a book, I don’t pay much attention to the cover. People on the cover, whether drawings or photos, don’t affect me at all, possibly because I’m a little face blind. Generally, I don’t hold a concrete picture of characters in my mind, so it doesn’t matter if the cover matches the text. I remember finishing one of the Wheel of Time books and then looking at the cover and thinking, who are these people?

House of LeavesDark WaterFrom a simply aesthetic point of view, I prefer iconography, lower key art, and maybe the use of matte versus gloss. Those things will attract my attention. House of Leaves is a prime example. In the book store this is a matte black cover with the maze in black gloss. Sparse, but intriguing.  I’m also a fan of the subtle or hidden image. I had was on the last story of Koji Suzuki’s Dark Water before I saw the face.

4 thoughts on “Thoughtful Thursday: Book Covers

    1. Yes, well, kinda-sorta. The movie is a remake of the Japanese film Dark Water which is based on the story “Floating Water” that is in the anthology. So, there’s that playing-telephone aspect of translation to the screen and then translation for an American audience. I recall it being a fairly decent film.

Leave a Reply

