Bout of Books 10

Bout of Books

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 12th and runs through Sunday, May 18th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 10 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Goals

I haven’t been doing well with readathons this year, but I couldn’t stand letting a Bout of Books go by without me. In fact, I’m kind of planning for this Bout of Books to be a watershed. After May and the group of books below, I’m going to take a break from readathons and from reading ARCs. I have so many unread books on my shelves that I’m not sure why I seek out so many others to read instead. I’ll still keep an eye on NetGalley, but it’s time to be even pickier about what I request. I won’t finish all these books during Bout of Books, but they are my immediate reading list.

Books

Sundance: A Novel The Best Horror of the Year, Volume Six Shirley The Quick

Plus a couple of chapters of A Feast for Crows and “Chin Oil” by George Guthridge for Deal Me In.

Progress

Notes

Sunday:

ShirleyChallenge! Hosted by Oh Magic Hour: For this, your final mini-challenge of the readathon, I thought it would be fun if we all tried to come up with a new title for our current read, or really anything we’ve read during this Bout of Books 10.0.

A good alternate title for Shirley, a fictional account of a young couple staying with Stan Hyman and Shirley Jackson during the last year of Shirley’s life, would be Scotch and Cigarettes. We’re in 1964. Everyone drinks. Everyone smokes. Except, surprisingly, the pregnant girl.

Saturday Summary: Was up early enough for the chat. Yay! Did manage to get a good amount of reading done despite needing to write.

Friday:

Challenge! Hosted by Neon Yeti Reads: Create a stack of book spines from your bookshelf, or post pictures of the covers, that go in rainbow order.
rainbowAnd while doing this challenge, I figured out how to turn off my camera’s flash!

Friday Summary: Did something really stupid: overwrote a the file I was working on with one from earlier in the week. Poof! Work from Tuesday and Wednesday–gone. So, it will be less reading for me from here on out.

Thursday:

17:48 – Feeling like crap today. Got some reading done this morning, but the rest of the day has been a chore. Stupid body.

Thursday Summary: Ended up not sleeping well so took the opportunity to finish Sundance.

Wednesday:

Challenge! Hosted by My Overstuffed Shelves: Just think about the book you are reading now, or one you’ve read before, and tell me something you think goes with it and why.

I’m currently reading Sundance, a novel about the Sundance Kid, if he had been arrested in Wyoming instead of being shot in Bolivia. It of course makes me think of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid and how I have not seen that movie despite my liking of Westerns and things written by William Goldman. Strangely, I do not see Robert Redford as this Sundance, but a younger Sam Elliot. And it also makes me think of Nikola Tesla. After he’s released from prison, Sundance travels to New York in an effort to find his wife and is amazed by the lights of New York as well as the general industrialization that has occurred. That makes me think of Tesla because I’ve been reading about him in New York during the same time period.

File:Butch sundance poster.jpg Tesla: Inventor of the Electrical Age

Wednesday Summary: Lots of reading occurred!

Tuesday:

Challenge! Hosted by River City Reading: Your challenge is simple: create a list of titles you’re looking forward to reading. They can be upcoming titles in a specific season, titles that have been on your shelves, it’s up to you!

There was a time when I had absolutely no idea what books were coming out. And, generally, I’m still a bit behind. Truly, my TBR list does not need me to be up-to-date. Here are five books that I really want to read, roughly in order of their publication. I believe Motherless Child‘s release date is today!

Angel Killer: A Jessica Blackwood Novel The Asylum The Swan Gondola The Confabulist Motherless Child

Tuesday Summary: Did an okay bit of reading along with other writing work.

Monday:

09:15 – Having a pretty good Monday so far. Sundance packs a wallop in the first few chapters; I irrationally fear that it’s going to let me down by the end.

Below is my “Introduction” photo:

DSCN0175 Yes, that’s not me. That is, in fact, Chester the Jawa with my stack of back-up books. Following Kai’s advice, I’ve gathered the books I’m going to turn to when the books I *should* be reading fail me. Honestly, though, this picture tells more about me than a selfie might. It says:

  • I have a love of ridiculous, geeky plushies and I absolutely *will* give them ridiculous names.
  • I have too many books to read; my Backup Stack is bigger than my Reading Stack.
  • I’m a writer and, therefore, on the poor side. Most of the books I own are beat-up second-handers.
  • I have so many beat-up second-hand paperbacks that I store them in shoe boxes.
  • I have poor camera skillz.

23:47 – Didn’t get much more reading done after the Twitter chat. Worked on In Need of Luck, worked out, talked a bunch to my husband. But, hey, 91 pages isn’t bad for Day 1!

12 thoughts on “Bout of Books 10

  1. Love the train of thought that took you from the Sundance Kid to Tesla. Have you seen The Prestige with David Bowie playing Tesla? One of my favorite films of all time. Thanks for participating in the challenge!

Leave a Reply

