Armchair BEA ~ Novellas/Short Stories

The Complete Stories and Poems Stories of Ray Bradbury At the Mouth of the River of Bees: Stories

Now it is time to give a little love to those little stories in your life. Share your love for your favorite shorts of any form. What is a short story or novella that doesn’t get the attention that it deserves? Recommend to readers what shorts you would recommend they start with. How about listing some short story anthologies based upon genres or authors?

Generally, I think of myself as a novel reader. Sure, I occasionally pick up an anthology or read a passing short story on the web, but I’m not *really* a short story reader. Which is totally silly. My past, my present, and even my future reading habits are very much tied to short stories and novellas.

The Complete Sherlock HolmesPast

The first authors I remember reading voraciously are Edgar Allan Poe and Arthur Conan Doyle. I think these short works can be a great way to introduce younger readers to classics. They are the basis of many genre tropes and more accessible than classics that are based on cultural or political history. Short stories are a sneaky way to get absolutely anyone to read literature that’s well over a 100 years old.

Sleight of HandPresent

My favorite authors are short story writers. I’ll read anything by Ray Bradbury, Harlan Ellison, Peter S. Beagle, and Shirley Jackson. All of these writers? Damn good short story writers. Most American students have probably encountered Jackson’sThe Lottery and some Ray Bradbury, but these authors have a large catalog of work! Even some writers known for their door-stoppers get in on the act. One of my very favorite short story and novella writers is Stephen King. “The Body” is probably in my top ten of favorite pieces of literature ever written!

And if you’re of a reading challenge frame of mind, you might want to check out the Deal Me In short story challenge run by Jay at Bibliophilopolis. It’s been a great way to stay on track and read a story every week.

Returning My Sister's Face and Other Far Eastern Tales of Whimsy and MaliceFuture

Short stories anthologies are also a great place to try-out new authors.  I’ve found many “future” favorite authors in the pages of Best of- collections: Glen Hirshberg, Eugie Foster, Cat Rambo, Rachel Swirsky, Kij Johnson, Charles Yu. These authors have become go-tos on my TBR list.

Where Do I Find Short Fiction?

There are plenty of great places to find short fiction on-line.

Non-Genre:

Genre All Over the Place:

Even if you don’t want to commit to an entire anthology, there’s  a great selection of stories to sample!

Armchair BEA 3

14 thoughts on “Armchair BEA ~ Novellas/Short Stories

  1. “Short stories are a sneaky way to get absolutely anyone to read literature that’s well over a 100 years old.”

    I absolutely love this! I couldn’t agree with you more. They are also a great way for a writer to start their career. If you can master a great short story then you can eventually work you way up to writing an excellent novel.

  2. I’m not sure I’ve ever read a short story. And Novellas are very few – which I talked about on my post today. My Dad was a huge Stephen King fan when I was growing up and he owned a lot of his books. But most of his stuff is too scary for me. Even his thriller type stuff (horror is definitely too scary).

    Holly @ Words Fueled by Love

    1. The Body isn’t horror, really, but it is sort of unsettling. Not a happy-go-lucky story.

      My only problem with reading short stories is that, especially if I’m reading an anthology, it’s just way too many stories in a short expanse of time. It’s like eating the whole box of chocolates in one sitting. But, I’d say, take a half hour now and then and check out a short story or two. There’s a ton of good stuff out there!

  3. Gosh, I haven’t heard of any of the writers listed in your Future section! I’m so limited in the number of current writers that I read and want to change that, so your advice is perfect for me. Thanks!

  4. I must admit that I don’t read many short stories. I have read Jackson’s The Lottery though.

    Very clever – “Short stories are a sneaky way to get absolutely anyone to read literature that’s well over a 100 years old.”

    I haven’t heard of any of the writers listed in your Future section. *hangs head* I will scribble down their names and start reading.

    Thanks for the suggestions.

  5. I’m very much into your “Past” books. Poe and ACD are very accessible, and manage to grasp the attention of our modern short attention span brains. I haven’t read any of the other authors you mentioned – except Stephen King, but I haven’t started on his short fiction.

Leave a Reply

