Magic Monday ~ Erdnase & Weird Lit

MagicMonday

I like Mondays. On Monday, I am refreshed from the weekend and exhilarated by the possibilities of the week ahead. I also like magic. I like its history, its intersection with technology, and its crafty use of human nature.  I figured I’d combine the two and make a Monday meme that is truly me: a little bit of magic and a look at the week ahead.

Probably a decade ago when my hands started to be especially creaky, I decided I needed some way to exercise them. I ordered two books: World’s Best Card Tricks and The Expert at the Card Table by S. W. Erdnase. Little did I know that the Erdnase book would become the basis of my magic text collection. First published in 1902 as Artifice, Ruse and Subterfuge at the Card Table, I was reminded last week of how much I like its writing.


Read Artifice, Ruse and Subterfuge at the Card Table via The Conjuring Arts Research Center
Read more about the enigma of S. W. Erdnase

SmallAceWhat Am I Reading?

The Feel of the City: Experiences of Urban TransformationUndecided on whether I want to finish The Quick. I don’t want to DNF another ARC, but it pretty much killed my desire to read this past weekend. I really enjoyed the first 25%. But then, well, the book changes just like one of its characters. From the other reviews I’ve read, it doesn’t really get much better. I have so many other things to read…

Like The Feel of the City: Experiences of Urban Transformation by Nicolas Kenny, which seems to be a better way to spend my time.

For Deal Me In, I’ll be reading “The Mystery of Marie Roget” by Edgar Allan Poe, and for the WeirdLit Reddit’s reading discussion, “Pinholes in Black Muslin” by Simon Strantzas. I’m also reviewing Shirley next week and want to read a few applicable Shirley Jackson stories. Starting off the summer month of June in October fashion.

What Am I Writing?

Back to work on In Need of Luck. When I last worked on it, I had bone-headedly overwritten the wrong file when backing things up and had to rewrite a week’s worth of work. Now that I’ve had a break maybe I’ll be able to work on it without reliving the frustration. Writing is hard enough that it shouldn’t be attempted while simultaneously kicking oneself.

So, what are you reading? Any magic to share?

Leave a Reply

