Summer 2014 #EstellaProject

tep_season2_edit-1024x682I’ve been seeing lots of summer reading lists around and feeling pangs of envy. Unlike seemingly everyone else, my school never had required summer reading. (Is this a generational thing? Meant to keep students engaged and out of trouble?) But, schooly that I was, I would have loved it. Now, the Estella Project has got me covered.

The Goal? Pick a couple books (or more) from the list. Read ’em, review ’em, link ’em.

The Estella Project Summer Reading List

Strangely, I plan to read the first two:

  • The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

I want to get another fantasy done for Once Upon a Time VIII, so expect to hear from me about the Gaiman before the solstice. I’ve had The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay on my shelf for quite some time. I even used it recently as part of a book rainbow!

rainbow

I might also read Geek Love by Katherine Dunn or reread Something Wicked This Way Comes, but I’m not gonna go crazy. 😉

4 thoughts on “Summer 2014 #EstellaProject

  1. The Estella Project sounds like my kind of reading challenge (that is, not very challenging at all!). The only two on this list that I haven’t already read and that are in my 746 are Let The Right One In and Geek Love, so that’s my choices made! Kavalier and Clay is a great read – enjoy and thanks for the heads up about this challenge!

    1. No problem! In adult-hood, I’m pretty terrible at keeping to lists, so one that has lots of options and little requirement works out well. 😉 I read Let the Right One In a few years back. The movies are pretty much a pared down version of the bigger story. It’s brutal, but good.

  2. I have always wanted to read The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon. I look forward to seeing what you think about it. I don’t really have a summer reading list. I just read whatever is next on my reading pile. I should find a summer book to read!

Leave a Reply

