Magic Monday ~ All Over TV

MagicMonday

I like Mondays. On Monday, I am refreshed from the weekend and exhilarated by the possibilities of the week ahead. I also like magic. I like its history, its intersection with technology, and its crafty use of human nature.  I figured I’d combine the two and make a Monday feature that is truly me: a little bit of magic and a look at the week ahead.

I had intended to post about the automaton duck today, but I realized I wanted to do more research first. Instead, I want to shine a little light on a few magical media things that are going on.

First, the CW in the US currently has two magic-related shows on its schedule. The first is Fool Us. Magicians Penn & Teller invite fellow magicians to fool them. No secrets are revealed and the illusions are pretty darn good, even if they don’t always fool the professionals. This is actually the US airing of the UK series, with hopes of getting a new season in the future.

The second CW show is Masters of Illusion. It’s a half-hour magic variety show. I’d say this is the weaker of the two. There’s less setup for the tricks and abrupt transitions between each. It leaves little time to appreciate anything that’s going on. There’s a thin overlay of brain science, but nothing beyond the premise that your brain deceives you. Still, nice to have some magic on the over-the-air channels.

About Houdini, Adrien Brody
But…he’s too tall!

Upcoming, the History Channel will be airing a two-night Houdini bio-pic starring Adrien Brody. While Houdini isn’t my favorite of magicians, it’ll probably be worth the watch. Dean Carnegie has an ambitious plan to post 30 Days of Houdini. He’s off to a great start looking at the origins of some of Houdini’s tricks.

SmallAce

What Am I Reading?

Still working on Great Expectations, and Kavalier & Clay. Plan on finishing “Wakulla Springs” by Andy Duncan too.

What Am I Writing?

Lots of In Need of Luck.

On the Blog

  • Thursday: Mini reviews of Wool, Part 1 by Hugh Howey, “Wakulla Springs” by Andy Duncan and “Burning Girls” by Veronica Schanoes
  • Friday: #COYER Scary Stories by the Campfire readathon for the weekend.
  • Saturday: An S. P. Somtow tale for Deal Me In

So, what are you reading? Any magic to share?

Leave a Reply

