Magic Monday ~ In which Schrodinger’s Cat is Invoked

MagicMonday

I like Mondays. On Monday, I am refreshed from the weekend and exhilarated by the possibilities of the week ahead. I also like magic. I like its history, its intersection with technology, and its crafty use of human nature.  I figured I’d combine the two and make a Monday feature that is truly me: a little bit of magic and a look at the week ahead.

As I mentioned a few weeks back, often the fun of magic is how different performers decide to use the standards. Here Morgan & West (well, mostly Morgan) pair cup-and-ball basics with their own comedic twist.

I read an essay last week by Michael Close about the Big Lie of magic: That people *like* to be fooled. In fact, people really don’t, but there are things that performers do that can take the sting out of boldly lying to their audience. This trick of Morgan & West’s is a good example of the Conspiratorial Approach, in which the magician takes the audience into their confidence, and especially the Non-Magic Approach, using comedy to soothe befuddlement. A propos, Morgan & West recently wrote an article for the Guardian about this very type of thing.

SmallAce

What Am I Reading?

I started The Confabulist but I’m not sure I like one of the narrators. Some of Monstrous Affections and Magic And Mystery will probably be read as well.

“The Goldfish Pool and Other Stories” by Neil Gaiman for Deal Me In.

Writing, Blogging, and Other Life Stuff

This has been a rough year for me. A rough handful of years, actually. I’ve been trying to regain my writing mojo and I’m looking at all the things that have changed in this last 7-ish years. In addition to Eric working from home, our self-publishing, and my sometimes sketchy health, the big change has been in my use of the internet. I used to keep a sporadic journal of stuff, unstructured. I’d maybe comment back and forth with a handful of people I knew primarily online. Now, I have a more scheduled blog. I follow more sites and more people on Facebook and on Twitter. While I find these things enjoyable, they wear me out, little by little. I need to be more protective of my time and attention and, you know, actually do my job.

Leave a Reply

