Magic Monday ~ Mysteriously Yours

MagicMonday

I like Mondays. On Monday, I am refreshed from the weekend and exhilarated by the possibilities of the week ahead. I also like magic. I like its history, its intersection with technology, and its crafty use of human nature.  I figured I’d combine the two and make a Monday feature that is truly me: a little bit of magic and a look at the week ahead.

28862576_1_l

 

I didn’t pay much attention to the recent Potter & Potter auction of (mostly) Houdini paraphernalia and missed a rather interesting piece of Joseffy memorabilia.

It’s a giant 7.75″ by 11″ Queen of Hearts, signed “Mysteriously Yours, Joseffy, June 29, 1915.” Of course, even if I did know this was on the block, I wouldn’t have been bidding on it. I don’t know how much it sold for, but the opening bid was $80 with an addition 23% buyer’s premium. Too rich for this poor author.

SmallAce

I’ve been visiting my family in Nebraska this past weekend, but should be back behind my computer soon enough!

Leave a Reply

