What I’m Doing and Not Doing in October


Reading List for October:

  • The Kiss Murder by Mehmet Murat Somer
  • Last Winter We Parted by Fuminori Nakamura
  • Under Stars by KJ Kabza
  • The Bullet Catch by John Gaspard (Dewey’s)
  • Penn & Teller’s Cruel Tricks for Dear Friends (Dewey’s)
  • Hangsaman by Shirley Jackson
  • Fright Fest
    • The New Girl by R.Ll Stine
    • The Surprise Party by R.L. Stine

There are a lot of great readathons going on in October. Michelle at Seasons of Reading is hosting Fright Fall Readathon. April and Kat at My Shelf Confessions are hosting Wonderfully Wicked Readathon. In the past year or two, I would have signed up immediately because both are great events! But, I’m trying something a little different this October and taking a couple steps back.

The only readathon I’m doing is … Dewey’s 24-hour Readathon!

dewey-300x300
I haven’t been able to really participate in the last few so I’m really, really looking forward to it.

Instead of a multitude of readathons, I’m going to do a couple of read-alongs.

Charleen at Cheap Thrills is hosting a 90s Nostalgia Fright Fest Readalong. Now, I don’t have a lot of 90s nostalgia, but I did win some R. L. Stein Fear Street books a while back including The New Girl whose cover is highlighted below! Plus, I figure these are great Dewey’s books.

frightfest

I’m also going to attempt a Shirley Jackson double feature. The Book Smugglers are hosting a read-along of Hangsaman. I own it, but haven’t read it.

5 thoughts on “What I’m Doing and Not Doing in October

  1. Thanks for mentioning the Wonderfully Wicked Read-a-Thon! I hope you enjoy the Dewey RAT and get everything you want read for it, and have lots of fun! The 90’s Nostalgia event sounds fun, I used to love the Fear Street and Christopher Pike books, it’s been so long since I read them (and even back then I never got around to reading all of them, only a handful before I moved on to adult books that were a bit more “substantial”) so it’d be fun to take a trip back and read some that I haven’t read before – and several have caught my eye over the years!

    April @ My Shelf Confessions

Leave a Reply

