Fright Fest Update ~ The New Girl

frightfest

I missed the R.L. Stine/teen horror phenomena in the nineties. For me, the nostalgia of these books, or at least The New Girl which I read last week, is in the setting. Published in 1989, it is just *so* 80s. At least in the original printing I have. I’ve heard that new editions have updated references as well as grittier covers. I’m glad my Fear Street editions have the ditto machine still intact! Honestly, I was surprised at how much fun The New Girl was to read. Cory Brooks, our smitten hero, is a bit of a bone head, but still likeable. The plot twist was appropriately sensational and I enjoy the concept of horror novels that are all set in place. I’ll be reading Fear Street #2 next week, probably during Dewey’s Readathon.

The New Girl (Fear Street, #1) The New Girl (Fear Street, #1) The New Girl (Fear Street, #1)

Actually, what is up with the new covers? They’re a little racy for book that only has kissing and non-graphic “excitement.”

One thought on “Fright Fest Update ~ The New Girl

  1. Yeah, I’m disappointed in the updated cover myself. Much as I like the retro look of the original, I think the style of the reprint is a great update… but the picture itself definitely isn’t representative of the book, only there to be attention-grabbing. Most of the others are much better (though there’s obviously nothing like the originals for those of us who read them way back when).

Leave a Reply

