Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon, October 2014

dewey-300x300
Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon

Readathon Celebration Giveaway!

To celebrate a day of reading, I’m giving away a book from Entangled Continua Publishing. Readathon participation not required! The prize is winner’s choice of:

  • (1) signed trade paperback copy of Lucinda at the Window by Katherine Nabity
  • (1) signed trade paperback of PHYSIC by Eric Nabity
  • (1) signed trade paperback of Luck for Hire by Katherine & Eric Nabity
  • (1) ebook combo pack including the expanded editions of Model Species *and* Divine Fire (available in most major formats)

Book descriptions can be found on the sidebar. US shipping only I’m afraid for the physical books.

**Enter Here**

Readathon Stack & Updates

Deweys22014

Also “The Fall of the House of Escher” by Greg Bear, this week’s Deal Me In story.

Wrap-Up Meme

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? I didn’t make it past hour 20. I was sitting straight up in a well-lit room with 80’s music blaring through the headphones, an issue of Hawkeye open, and was happily asleep.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? I think light contemporary mysteries are the way to go. Not a genre I know too much about yet. Maybe I’ll have recommendations in April.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Maybe a few less photo-dependent challenges. I guess I’m in the minority, being cell-phone-less, but for me snapping a picture and uploading it is about 10-15 minutes of time.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? Everything was nice and smooth, very well run. There was always someone “official” around.
  5. How many books did you read? Finished one in-progress, read two cover-to-cover, and read a few short stories.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? The Surprise Party, The Bullet Catch, Penn & Teller’s Cruel Tricks for Dear Friends
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? Loved The Bullet Catch
  8. Which did you enjoy least? Was unimpressed with The Surprise Party
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? So, when is the next one? Very likely to read again. I might consider hosting a challenge next time.

Introduction Meme

  1. What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Tempe, AZ. Still dark here.
  2. Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? The Bullet Catch – It’s the second in a series. The protagonist is a working magician as well as an amateur sleuth.
  3. Which snack are you most looking forward to? Pumpkin Spice M&Ms. Sorry, world. I love the pumpkin spice trend.
  4. Tell us a little something about yourself! In the past year, my husband and I have shifted to self-publishing our novels. It’s been a scary, but satisfying endeavor.
  5. If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? It’s been a few years since I’ve been able to do the whole day. I want to make sure I get up often to move and I want to quickly ditch book that’s not quite working out. I wanted to get a good night’s sleep, but my allergies made that an impossibility. Will probably have to nap later.

 

11 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon, October 2014

  1. litandlife

    I sometimes think I’ll wake up early and get a jump start on readathon but then the idea of waking up earlier than usual to start convinces me not to. Not sure I could start as early as you had to! Good luck!

  2. Is the sweet love lost?
    Does every freedom have a cost?
    Is the dragon freed?
    To find out you have to read read read.

    Thank you so much for being a part of Dewey – It’s always nice to see so many readers at once and see all the different books you’re reading! 🙂

    Xoxo Katja #TeamButler

  3. I hope you had a great day read-a-thoning!

    I’m right with you on the no-phone/photos front.

    I hadn’t thought about light mysteries. They do seem like good RaT candidates – page-turny, engaging yet not requiring too much brain in the wee hours. Thanks for an idea for next time!

Leave a Reply

