Magic Monday ~ Happy Holidays!

MagicMonday

I like Mondays. On Monday, I am refreshed from the weekend and exhilarated by the possibilities of the week ahead. I also like magic. I like its history, its intersection with technology, and its crafty use of human nature.  I figured I’d combine the two and make a Monday feature that is truly me: a little bit of magic and a look at the week ahead.

6286789_1_l

This is a little piece of magic miscellanea featuring my favorite necromancer and his sidekick. According to accounts of Joseffy’s act, three clicks of the jaw by Balsamo indicated ‘yes.’

SmallAce

What Am I Reading?

After brutally DNFing a book that I wouldn’t have requested if it had a better blurb or a sample of the first few pages, I’ve decided to cut back on reading ARCs. Especially on NetGalley, I often feel like I don’t have enough information to evaluate whether I really want to spend time with a book before I request it.

With new space in my reading schedule, I logged in to Tempe’s elibrary and to place a hold on Stephen King’s Revival. I’d noticed it last time I was was there, but figured I didn’t have time for it in January. Surprisingly, a copy was available for immediate download. Looks like the end of 2014 will be spent with Mr. King.

What Am I Writing?

I may have finally gotten past the 35,000 word mark on In Need of Luck. I’ll probably have Eric read sometime this week. I’d really like to be at the 45K mark before Bout of Books starts on the 5th.

Leave a Reply

