2014 in Summary & Looking Ahead to 2015

2015
Why, yes, I *did* pull out the fuchsia.

2014 Statistics

Number of books read in 2014: 54
I had a goal of 52.
(Read 63 in 2013, 37 in 2012)
3 were rereads.
14 were ARCs.

Average rating: 3.05 (out of 5)
Even though I’m no longer publishing my ratings, I still keep track.
Average rating of ARCs: 2.98 – But I was quicker to put down ARCs this year.

Read 72% fiction / 28% non-fiction.
(66%/33% split in 2013, 80%/20% in 2012)
62% were by authors I hadn’t read before, excluding the four mixed anthologies that I read.
(71% in 2013, 50%-ish in 2012)
68% were in some electronic form.
(71% were in 2013)

27% were by female authors, again excluding the mixed anthologies and one book by an undetermined author.
(20% in 2013, 40%-ish in 2012)
17% of my 2014 Deal Me In short stories were by women.

Plans for 2015

I want to keep better track of the short works I’m reading outside of Deal Me In. Between the Gothic Challenge/Read-a-longs, Obscure Literary Monsters, and research reading, I’ll be reading even more short stories. I’ve made a few changes to my spreadsheet. I’d also like to be more aware and engaged as I read. Not quite pen-in-hand, but maybe being a little freer with my note taking.

During the last few months, I’ve stepped back from trying to do too many activities and it’s been a good thing. I plan on keeping my extracurricular blogging activities to a minimum.

I find that genre-aspected challenges (read X number of Y type book) don’t really work for me. They always sound like so much fun in December, but by next September, I haven’t kept up with the books, the reviews, or checking other participant’s blogs. Instead, I think I’ll do more read-a-longs. Also, I love readathons, but I’ve come to realize that I can only do them occasionally or I get really burnt out. I probably won’t do more than one every two months or so.

In general, more reading, less stressing, and hopefully higher quality interactions.

6 thoughts on “2014 in Summary & Looking Ahead to 2015

  1. I like your more reading, less stressing theme for 2015. I’m trying to do that too…I used to write a full review for every book I read and I’m going to try for more mini reviews this year. Happy New Year!

    1. I’ll admit, I’ve been feeling a level of review fatigue lately. I look at the edit screen and think, “What am I going to say about *this* book…” I need to figure out a good mini-review protocol.

  2. It looks like you had a wonderful 2014 reading year, and I’m sure there are excellent things to come in 2015. I surpassed my goal, but it was largely by reading shorter works like single issue comics, short stories, etc. I need to come up with some way to keep track of those separately (if I decide it’s necessary). Right now I’m sort of leaning toward letting them all coexist together.

  3. I feel the same way and have the same (lack of) success with reading X number of books in a challenge, which is why I added the one book option to things I host several years back when I decided it was silly to encourage people to do something I myself couldn’t even keep up with.

    Glad you met your goal for 2014. I feel short of mine, but am setting my Goodreads goal at 65 again this year and will see if I meet it. It is a purely arbitrary number, but I’ve got it stuck in my head.

    I hope you have a relaxing, fun and productive 2015.

  4. Happy New Year & congrats on reaching your reading goal last year.

    That gothic read along sounds interesting, I might join in with that one, maybe not this month, but a short story in February should be doable.

  5. Pingback: The Gothic Challenge & Obscure Literary Monsters – Susan Hated Literature

Leave a Reply

