Magic Monday Is Back!

MagicMonday

I like Mondays. On Monday, I am refreshed from the weekend and exhilarated by the possibilities of the week ahead. I also like magic. I like its history, its intersection with technology, and its crafty use of human nature.  I figured I’d combine the two and make a Monday feature that is truly me: a little bit of magic and a look at the week ahead.

First Magic Monday of 2015! (Last week was Bout of Books.) It seems like it’s been a while since the last one with all the “best-of”s and wrap-ups. I have some plans for future MMs, but they will require getting my feet under me work- & blogging-wise. It could happen!

Under the heading of Check Your Local Listings and Mark Your Calendars:

PBS will be airing the Ricky Jay documentary Deceptive Practice later in January. If you’re in the US, you’ll probably be able to catch it online as well.

(I would link to the PBS trailer, but the embedding doesn’t get along well with WordPress.)

SmallAce

What Am I Reading?

The Magician's Daughter: A Valentine Hill MysteryI need to finish Sleights of Mind this week and get it back to the library. Then it’s on to The Magician’s Daughter by Judith Janeway or The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle. I’d ear-marked reading Hound due to the gothic elements, I think. For Deal Me In, I’ve already picked a wild card. I think it will be given to “The Damned Thing” by Ambrose Bierce.

What Am I Writing?

Need to do a clean-up on Luck for Hire (today) and then have Eric read. Working on getting Lucinda at the Window back into rotation after its stint on KDP Select.

 

Leave a Reply

