Writerly Writing – Goals

There are still many more days of failure ahead, whole seasons of failure, things will go terribly wrong, you will have huge disappointments, but you have to prepare for that, you have to expect it and be resolute and follow your own path.
~Anton Chekhov

I’ve been having problems with the motivation to write for a while now. In an effort to power through, I’m going set a some goals and post every Sunday with an update. No frills, except maybe additional inspiring quotations like the one above.

Goals

Write first. Without a day job or children, I have the opportunity to write whenever I want. Lately, I do everything else first and what time I have left over I spend on writing. This from someone who has energy management problems. I aim to get at least 300 words written before moving on to other things. This may include staring at the Word doc for two hours as coffee gets into my system in the morning.

Write twice. Take a serious look at the document again later in the day. Get another couple hundred words written, because goal #3 is…

3000K for the week on In Need of Luck. Kinda meager, yet fairly mountainous.  I’m at 44,672 words and I wanted to have a 60K first draft done at the end of December. Of 2014.

Leave a Reply

