Magicienne Monday ~ Magic Megs and the Magic Circle

MagicienneMonday

I like Mondays. On Monday, I am refreshed from the weekend and exhilarated by the possibilities of the week ahead. I also like magic. I like its history, its intersection with technology, and its crafty use of human nature.  I figured I’d combine the two and make a Monday feature that is truly me: a little bit of magic and a look at the week ahead.

And welcome to the first Magicienne Monday! I’ve had this on the agenda for a while now, but things kept getting in the way. Monthly, I’d like to profile some of the women in magic. I actually got the idea back in November when I heard about Megan Knowles-Bacon.

6.Rings-7At the age of 22, Megan Knowles-Bacon was voted in as the youngest and the first female officer of the Magic Circle, Britain’s magic association. It’s only been 23 years since they started admitting female members at all! I was really hoping to find a video of her performing part of her Black Swan routine, but she’s quite absent from YouTube.

SmallAce

What Am I Reading?

Planning to make good headway on Dead Wake this week. It’s enjoyable, but it is Erik Larson. It’s dense with facts. I drew a wild card for Deal Me In; I’ll be reading “The Sandman” by E.T.A. Hoffmann, which is off my Obscure Literary Monsters list.

What Am I Writing?

Main goal for the week is 3K on In Need of Luck. I’ve also been puttering around with a short story idea during my free writes.

On the Blog

Depending how busy I get this week either a review of Teller & Todd Karr’s House of Mystery books or a reread review of Glen Hirshberg’s The Two Sams.

2 thoughts on “Magicienne Monday ~ Magic Megs and the Magic Circle

  1. Shirley

    Yeah for the ‘luck’ Book. Cool about the women magicians, can’t recall ever seeing any. Will have to check that out!

Leave a Reply

