Magic Monday ~ Sponge Bunnies!

MagicMonday

I like Mondays. On Monday, I am refreshed from the weekend and exhilarated by the possibilities of the week ahead. I also like magic. I like its history, its intersection with technology, and its crafty use of human nature.  I figured I’d combine the two and make a Monday feature that is truly me: a little bit of magic and a look at the week ahead.

Sponge bunnies are a magic prop similar to classic red sponge balls. They’re handy for palming (ha, ha), but with the added fun of bunny-ness. A perfunctory search didn’t turn up much in the way of the history of sponge bunnies, but they’ve been used since at least the late 60s, early 70s. The advantage of bunnies versus balls is that they can easily be anthropomorphized. Sponge bunnies can “help” in other tricks (for example, “if the card selected does not end in the desired position, you can ‘walk’ the sponge bunny over the cards so he can ‘smell’ the correct card”1) or be used to ramp up into something more spectacular like a live rabbit production.

My favorite sponge bunny routine is the one done by the magic dragon:

1 de Pazos, Luciano, “Luciano’s Flip Out,” M-U-M, August 1975, Vol. 65, pg. 25

SmallAce

What Am I Reading?

Didn’t get much reading done last week. I’m still working on Dead Wake by Erik Larson. This week I’ll also be reading:

  • “The Old Nurse’s Story” by Elizabeth Gaskell (with a review of it on Thursday)
  • The February 1905 issue of The Sphinx (for next Monday)
  • “The Man of the Crowd” by Edgar Allan Poe for Deal Me In (on Saturday/Sunday)

 

Leave a Reply

